2014 New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 5

I have a sneaking feeling that I am going to feel like Dorothy, Toto, the Tin Man and the Scarecrow (The Wizard of Oz) when they come to the field of poppies that they must cross before getting to the Emerald City!!!!!!!  LOL  

Why would anyone in their right mind (!!) hook a million squigly lines and padula poppies?   I think I am going into shock!!!  :)   As with “backgrounds” (you know this!) you can work for 2 hours and it looks just about the same as when you started!   LOL   Maybe when the front door is open, the wind will blow some of the poppies away!  :)   (As you can see, I am blending the bright yellow colours as I know I’ll have to scrounge to find enough to do all of this part of the rug. ..  and I don’t want to buy any more wool.)

   And then there is the black wool sneaking in along the edges (at least I filled it in!)…and that green.   I found that one of my green wool plaids pieces is NOT 100% wool.   When you tear it, it stops at every light line and makes a snapping “I-am-not-wool” sound.   I’ll use it anyway because this piece is destined for something…but not a rug show!    Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  :)

Well enough gabbing…here is Day 5 progress…

mystery2014P mystery2014Q

3 thoughts on “2014 New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 5

  1. Hi Sunnie, your poppies are beautiful. I always wonder why we always get antsy with repetition when hooking. I get like that with background.
    I’m getting antsy to see what you are hooking. Your colors are gorgeous.
    Hugs,
    JB

  2. Cynthia sifri says:

    Okay Sunnie, I’m new to your site and have caught up since the beginning of your mystery rug. The red poppies are tires on the road. And all the yellow lines are the road. It has been a very winding way from Vermont to Oregon!

    The white area with the dots is an ice cream cone you had along the way. It must be vanilla with chocolate. Am I close?
    Cynthia

Leave a Reply

