2014/New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 8

I’m delighted to report that I was able to do a lot of hooking yesterday (6 hours)…and will be able to start showing you larger parts of the rug next week!!!   I worked on the more detailed part that I can’t show as well as the parts that I can.   I’m glad to report that they all are coming together just as I wanted…and that is always a delight when your choices make you happy!  :)

By the way…something I do that people sometimes ask about is steaming my rug several times while I am working on it.   I hook closely so my rugs have a little curve before steaming.   When I complete a corner or a side, I steam the rug flat…then continue working.   With this size rug, I will probably steam 3 times before the final one.  (I’ve done 1)    I always steam the center before hooking the border too.   I was asked how I know how high to pull the loops if the adjoining ones are steamed down.   My answer is that I seem to pull my loops up to the same height naturally…I don’t really have to pay much attention to that.

I’m sure the rug will be completed towards the end of next week…and we’ll have an “unveiling”! I don’t know if you will laugh or cry…but I hope you will have some response…and not just a yawn!!!!!   LOL      I am having a lot of fun with this so, for me, that is hooking requirement #1.   Whether it belongs in the” famous art galleries” of the world…you’ll have to decide that for yourself!!!   :)

I needed to fill in more poppies and squiggles (whoops, I first wrote fill in more “poopies” so it is going to be one of those days!!!!!)…and more background, but you can see that I am hooking three squiggly rows in another part of the rug.   That is a new area and I am sure you have never seen such beautiful squiggly rows!!!  More Hints are……………….. C A and H A S…!  :)   You get 4 pictures today!

Here is progress for Day 8…

Mystery2014Zmystery2014a1Mystery2014new2mystery2014a3

 

 

7 thoughts on “2014/New Mystery Rug/Sunnie/rug hooking/24 x 24-Day 8

      • Carol Zimmerman says:

        Julia is the best! I first met her on RHD when she wished me Happy Birthday! I don’t correspond as much as I should, but her blog is wonderful!

  1. Carol Zimmerman says:

    Thanks for the fun of this…I just joined in…the colors are right up my alley…as are “poopies’…so glad you’re having so much fun…that’s just how it’s supposed to be! I’ve just connected to your site, so I didn’t know how much you are and how much fun you have…I’m a fan of smaller pieces…I need more finishing in my life! Hook on!

    • Thanks, Carol…I have fun with all my hooking. If it doesn’t please me and give me pleasure, I don’t hook it. LOL
      glad you are enjoying the adventure with me…I love the 24 x 24 inch format…goes fast and makes me focus in on the important part of the rug!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie ; )

  2. I’m trying hard to play Sherlock Holmes but I didn’t fine a clue, instead I found some nice comments that made me smile. Thanks Sunnie and Carol. You’ve both made my day.
    I’m looking forward to the day of the unveiling of this great mystery rug…

    Our weather has warmed up and our slippery ice is melting. It looks like a nice spring day outside.

    Hugs,
    JB

Leave a Reply

