New Hooked Rug – Day 20

Hooray!!!!  I’m so happy with my outer leaf hand-dyed wool choices!!!!  : )  Although the leaves look a little “washed out” in this closeup picture (flash) they really have a lovely mottled colour and the blends go with the rest of the rug motifs that have an “Autumn” feel, at least to me!!!!!  LOL  The colours are deeper and richer than the pictures show. 

I wanted the leaves to look like they were “dancing in the breeze”…perhaps on a lovely Fall day!  : )

bradleyprimday20a.jpg 

My flash makes these pictures a bit brighter than the wool actually is!!  We are having another lovely snowstorm today so the light is pretty poor!!!! : )

bradleyprimday20.jpg 

The regular Antique Gold Spot is done over gray wool. I had a half-yard of it at home and ordered another yard asking that it be dyed over beige with more yellow dye.  Because I had looked at my “leaf experiment” for several days, both with a narrow orange outline and a brighter #8 cut orange spot-dye outline, I decided that I didn’t want an “outline” as such.  The brighter spot dye seemed to draw too much attention to the individual leaves…and as I said before, I wanted the leaf border to be attractive but not take over the rug!!!!    LOL

So I decided that the more yellow/gold strips of the AGSpot would be used for the outline and the greener, grayish, dull yellow strips would be used for the inside of the leaf…with a few odds and ends of other wools thrown in.  Also, I did not want the veins to “match” on any of the leaves…just random.    This left me free to use leftover wool “worms” here and there in the veins and leaves, even if they were colours not used in other parts of the rug. 

This is the Antique Gold Spot from Phyllis at Winterberry Cabin.

antiquegoldwinterberry.jpg 

Sometimes it is not the beauty of the wool when it is dyed in yardage, but the effect it gives when cut into strips and hooked!!!  (I learned that rather early in my rug hooking because one of my “ugliest” hand-dyed pieces made a beautiful green lawn on one of my country scene rugs!!!)  LOL  I loved it hooked up!!!!  : )

I’m so pleased with how this rug is turning out!!!  It’s such fun to see it come alive with both hand-dyed and as-is wools…and I’m having a great time while the snow is drifting outside and all is peaceful and quiet.

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

5 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Day 20”

  1. Sunnie-

    I LOVE your leaves!! I’ve admired them in your outer border since you first put them in. I’m so glad that they are still there. Your rug is just beautiful and I’ve having such a fun time following along. Thanks for sharing.

    Mary

  2. Sunnie,

    I feel like I’m in the middle of this GREAT hooking class! Hope you don’t mind, but I feel fully invested in your project right along with you. Love the leaves in the outer border, they are magical. I can not wait to see how this rug looks completed. What a treasure you are creating. It will bring such pleasure to you and all who see it for years and years to come. Maybe it’s good that Spring doesn’t come early…you have many cold days to be extra productive this way!
    Blessings,
    Debbie
    Nebraska

  3. Thanks so much, Mary and Debbie! : ) I didn’t realize how much fun I would have doing this rug and doing it day by day! : )

    Because of our long Winter (we had snow today again!!!) it does mean I can get a lot of hooking done!!!!

    I hope others are encouraged either to do this Bradley Primitive rug or another pattern that they’ve wanted to do and just weren’t sure they wanted to attempt it! Even doing just a small area day by day keeps the project rolling along…and I’ve said before that doing the background as you go keeps it from getting “boring”!! LOL : )
    Hugs to you, Sunnie : )

  4. I love your leaves too! Those vine colors are perfect, and the color combination definately says “Fall”, reminding me of winter squash and fallen leaves.

  5. Thanks, Fitzy!!

    Autumn in Vermont is my favourite season…so I guess it comes out in my rug!!! : )

    I am using some of the green plaid used in the leaves in the smoky blue background for some of the veins in the large outer leaves. I like the effect.

    As I hang the rug up and look at it, I will also see if I need to adjust any of the colours in the rug center to blend (or to stand out more!!) as I go farther on the large leaf border.

    What fun!! Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

