New Hooked Rug – Day 24

Today, I decided to hook a little more on the outer border to see if I really like the choice of the antique black used in the center.  I thought at first it would be a good colour…but I’m not sure now!!  (We must not be afraid to change our minds if something doesn’t look quite right!!! )  And I have lots of wool for experimentation! LOL

 I have placed the rug on the floor and also hung it up and looked at it for awhile and I’m not sure the mixed black is correct for this small rug.   It might be too bold!!   But I love to experiment as you know (!!!) so I’ll try another colour (a Brown-black) to see if it makes a softer look, yet still makes a nice frame for the rest of the rug! 

I might use the smoky blue wool for the outside border…so I’ll experiment with that too!  Or even a deep green might do it!!!  LOL  What fun!

bradleyday24a500.jpg 

The black border below using the mix of blacks used in the center.  I think it may be too “black” …but I’ll have to live with it awhile and see!!!!  : )

bradleyblack2400.jpg

And then the Brown-Black experiment below…

bradleybrown1.jpg 

I know I’ll have to hook at least a corner here with the black/brown wool before I can really tell what I like.  As I’ve said before, sometimes what works on a very large rug is not the best on a smaller version.  I’ll live with my experiments awhile before choosing the final border.   Maybe one of these…maybe something else!!! : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

1 thought on “New Hooked Rug – Day 24”

  1. Hi Sunnie,

    We missed you at hooking yesterday!!! I personally think the black looks wonderful. It makes it look antiquish if there is such a word. lol JMO

Leave a Reply

