New Hooked Rug – Day 32

I just did a little more on the golden brown background and the black mix outside border.  Unfortunately, I picked up the flu from my Dear Husband (!!) so I haven’t felt very good for the last two days.  Hopefully, I’ll feel better soon!!!  It is nice to just hook and not have to think!!!   : )   So I’m glad I have these easy parts to do.  When I’m sick, I love boring!!!!!  LOL

I took the opportunity today to steam down the rug parts that I’ve already hooked.  I like to do the steaming as I go along as it makes it easier to work on the rug and to photograph it!!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Day 32”

  1. Hi Fitzy! Steaming the rug flattens it out so it will lie flat on the floor or hang flat against the wall. When I am hooking with wide cut strips, the rug curls up a bit as I work…partly because I hook my rows rather close together!! : ) We don’t want the rug to have ripples.

    If the rug steams down flat, I know that I’ve not hooked too tightly. If it doesn’t lie flat, after steaming, I know I must take out some wool strips and, perhaps, narrow the strips so they aren’t too “packed”.

    The steaming also evens out all the loops and I like the look because I don’t like to have my loops look too much the same…marching like little soldiers! : )! I like the blended look. Another reason to steam is to square up the rug if it has become distorted as you’ve worked.

    Although there are several trains of thought on steaming rugs, I steam on both the back of the rug and on the front. Some rug hookers say to only steam on the back, some say to steam on the front, some say do “whatever”!!!! LOL So I do what I want!!!

    Usually, when I’m doing a rug I steam the center before doing the border – if I’m working from the center out – or I steam the finished side of the rug before working on the other side if I’m doing it that way!!

    You might want to visit the website http://www.cindigay.com
    and check on her rug hooking e-school…she has lots of information on rug hooking, including steaming.

    Hope this helps!!!
    Happy Thursday! Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

