New Hooked Rug – Day 40

Here we go on Day 40!  : )  I know some of you wonder why I skip around so much and work on different parts of the unfinished rug rather than finish up the center, the the next border, etc.  That would be too “reasonable” for me!!!!!  LOL 

But really, I simply choose my part of the rug to work on by my mood or the colour I feel like using or whether my back is bothering me so I want to hook in straight lines and not lift the rug around and around circles and curves, etc.    : )

Also, as I’ve said before, I am used to designing a rug as I go…and it is somewhat difficult for me not to be changing “this and that” while I work.  I still like my random, wacky freewheeling style of working best, but I really am enjoying this rug and will do other commercial patterns in the future in addition to my own!  : )

Oh yes…I know that it is usual to do the design and then the background, but with some of these leaves and flowers I want to check out the size  as compared with the other images on the other end of the rug!   It is easier for me to do that by hooking the background around them first.

 The leaves and flowers are mostly not exactly  the same, but on one corner (the one I’m working on now with the brown background) the leaf in the center of the three leaves was printed a bit “off”.  So I changed the leaf to look more like the other corner leaves.  You can see the angle on the past photos of that leaf.  It’s a bit weird!  : )  I may have to adjust the leaf a bit more, but not a problem!!!  I don’t want it too close to the edge of the background.

Happy Hooking…and thank you to all of you visiting and following my progress on this rug! : )

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

