New Hooked Rug – Day 42

More work on the brown background and the leaves.  For some reason, this end I’m working on is a bit different than the other end…the motifs are a bit “off”!  But that’s no problem.  I’m just hooking fairly close to the pattern and will adjust the sizes later.  I need to have the two ends of the rug look balanced so my motifs can’t be too far off!  : )  Of course, with the rug so large and the frame I’m using, a smaller frame, I can’t see the motifs on the other end when I’m hooking.  Only when I lay the rug out on the floor!!!  But it just takes a little time to figure out!!!    : )

I find that sometimes it is better to hook a motif and then adjust it, especially if the rug is large and you can’t really see what the matching motif on the other end looks like!!!  : ) 

I know I’ll have to adjust the center leaves in the golden brown border.  This pattern was printed with some different sizes and pattern orientation on each end.  I don’t know if that is the regular pattern or if it is just a little “off”.  I don’t mind some variations but I don’ t want too many size differences so that one end of the rug has much larger leaves, etc. than the other end!!!!  LOL

I’ll adjust the leaves tomorrow and check for other adjustments I might have to make too.  If you are looking at the rug each day, you might notice where I have done a motif one day and changed it a little on the next day!

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

