New Hooked Rug – Day 50 “Hooray”!!!! : )

Would you believe that this is the 50th day I’ve spent on this rug?  I’m coming close to the finish line!!!!    : )    In some ways, it seems like I’ve been working on it for a long time.  But in other ways, it seems like a short time for a rug this size.  As you can see, the new motifs I’ve worked on today are the flowers in the smoky blue background at the bottom of the picture…the blue one, the yellow one and the lavender one outlined with pink.

Another quick view…new motifs are on the left as you face the rug.

It still  doesn’t seem like it has been 50 days of work on this rug!!  Of course, some days I was only able to get a small amount done…perhaps a few rows of the border.  For a rug this size, I think it goes quite quickly!  LOL  Happily for me, I didn’t feel I had to do the motifs EXACTLY  the same, in fact the motifs gave me the option of sticking in odds and ends of wools like I usually do on my rugs!!!  : )

I am thankful to those of you who have been so encouraging and inspired me to continue on this project!  : )  I appreciate all of the comments and have been blessed by the visitors who have enjoyed this rug right along with me.  I’ve been asked if I am going to do another rug and keep the “in progress” posts…and, goofy individual that I am (!!!)…I’m actually thinking about it!!!!!  LOL

But I must finish this one first!!!!!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Day 50 “Hooray”!!!! : )”

  1. Sunnie,
    NO, it doesn’t seem possible that it’s been 50 days on this rug. But I do need to tell you again how appreciative I am that you’ve done this. I’ve learned so much from watching your progress and think I went through withdrawal when you were out west for your great-grandson’s arrival.

    It’s been much more difficult than I thought it would be to lay around, rest and heal but your blog (along with Gene’s and several others from the Snippet’s family) have helped me keep my sanity when I was hurting too badly to do anything else.

    No matter what you move on to when you finish the Bradley, I’d love it if you document the progress again. Your color choices are also another thing I admire, especially since color planning is NOT one of my easier tasks.

    I know you have your husband’s family reunion coming up and need to do planning for that. Just know that ALL of your efforts are appreciated!!
    JoJo

  2. Thanks so much, JoJo!

    In spite of all you’ve gone through, especially this year, you always have a word of encouragement or a kind comment for others!! : ) That is why you have so many friends…even those you know only through cyberspace!!! : )

    I feel we’re almost “family” even though we’ve never met!!!!
    Hugs to you…and I hope you will feel better and better as the days go by! Sunnie : )

  3. Love the Bradley Primitive. It is inspiring me to start the big version! Please add me to your list for the quilt piece. Thanks!
    Mary in Richmond

Leave a Reply

