New Hooked Rug – Day 58 Hooking FINISHED! : )

Hooray!  I have completed the hooking and simply need to check again for any more “holidays”.  : )  Then it’s upstairs to do the steaming and let the rug lie flat for several days as it dries.  I’ve loved this project and am excited to see it finished!!!  : )

As I said, I’ll steam the rug and do the binding and edge whipping with wool yarn.  When I have it entirely finished, I’ll take a photo outside in natural light and post it here on the Blog!  Then, I’ll start my next hooking adventure!  I hope you’ll share it with me!

Happy Hooking!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

11 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Day 58 Hooking FINISHED! : )”

  1. Sunnie,
    Watching you work on your rug has been a fantastic learning adventure for me. Listening to you explain why you made certain choices will enable me to “see” where I am going when rug hooking. Thank you so much, and congratulations on your final loop!!! What will you choose next?

  2. WooHoo! This has been a real treat to watch you hook this rug. I’ve learned much and just enjoyed living vicariously when my hooking times are scarce recently! I know you’ll really treasure this rug. Great work!
    Deb

  3. Thank you so much, Lauri & Deb…I have had fun and I’m glad you enjoyed it too. : )

    I have another rug in the planning stage to do here and, after Dear Husband’s family reunion in a couple of weeks, I hope to start on the new adventure!!!

    Hooray!!! Happy Hooking! Sunnie : )

  4. Sunnie,

    What a beautiful work of art you have done!!! I am so amazed that your hooked this in what, 2 months? I ame awestruck at your talent.

    Wooly hugs,

    Trudy

  5. Hey Sunnie

    I am so proud of you! You are my inspiration to do a larger rug! It’s simply gorgeous and I cannot wait to see what you do next! Great job!

  6. Thanks so much, everyone! It’s been such fun! I’ve chosen a new design to hook on my Blog with daily posts…and after Husband’s family reunion, I’ll start it on June 28th!!!

    I’m really excited to do this new one too as it will be a real challenge! I’ve never seen the pattern hooked and I’ll do it with a #4 and #5 cut…with maybe a #6 in there too! I always work in wide cut so this will be a real test of my mental stability!!! LOL I may go a little more “wacky” while doing this!!!!

    Happy Summer!! Sunnie : )

  7. Hi Sunnie,
    Where do you do the rug steaming? I’m done with my spring rug (you know, now that it is almost Fall, hehee) and I don’t want to ruin my kitchen table–how do you do it? Thanks.

  8. Hi Jennifer!

    I steam my rugs upstairs in the studio on the floor!!! LOL It is carpeted up there and I put a couple of bath towels on the floor first, put the rug on it and steam the back and let dry…then steam the front and let dry. (Some rug hookers don’t steam on the front but I do! : )

    Because my studio carpet is very low pile, it works fine and I try to move the rug after it has dried just a bit so the carpet underneath dries out too and doesn’t rot!!!!

    If you are concerned about what is underneath your rug for steaming, you could get an inexpensive plastic tablecloth (perhaps flannel backed- like an outside picnic cloth) and place it under your towels to keep what is underneath from getting wet.

    Some people steam on a kitchen counter or on a table with a piece of plexiglass on it or???

    Hope this helps!!! Hugs, Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

