New Hooked Rug – Day 27 ~ Extra : )

Hooray!!!  I think I’ve got it!!!   LOL 

As you know, I’ve been dithering about the border for this rug.  My first thought for the border was to use the black background…but I wasn’t satisfied with that.  Then the brown/black gave me the softness I wanted but I agree with Sue that, especially on the photos…it looks rather “muddy” for a background…and doesn’t really “do” anything for the rug!!!  I wanted drama for this design and the border seemed dull to me!!!   : )

I wasn’t happy with the motifs in the border either…I disliked the “triangle trees” and adjusting the other things in the border for a larger cut wasn’t very satisfactory.  I would get one thing a rather liked and then another that I didn’t care for!!!  LOL  I felt that the border was taking away from the rug center because it was so “scatty”!!!  (Little “things here and there”!)  : )

Last night I sat for a long time looking at the rug.  It is just this kind of pondering that makes rug hooking so exciting and interesting for me!!!!!  LOL  I realized that I disliked the elephants in the border very much…even using the same wool as the larger elephant, I thought they looked more garish and took away from the center elephant!!!!  I also was having difficulty redesigning the “leaves or ferns” that are rather a mess in the lower and upper borders.  Because I was at first trying to keep the general idea of this design, I was trying to do the border with the original motifs.  But I really didn’t like them!!!  LOL

Because of this scrutiny  (looking at each part of the rug, deciding what I like and what I don’t…what is working and what is not…what feeling and presence I want this rug to have) I decided that my whole “border approach” was what was wrong!!!!  LOL 

The redesigning of the center and my choice of doing this in a dramatic, folk art style made the outer border the wrong type of border for this rug.  (In my opinion, of course!!!)  LOL  As I said before, if we visualize this rug in softer colours with the rug as a whole entity and not a center and a border, etc. we come up with a whole different look.  The #3 cut with fine shading and delicate fronds, leaves, images, etc. would make this rug beautiful…in a totally different way than my interpretation!!!

I decided to look at this rug as though had designed the center!!!!  If it were my folk art pictorial design, what would I have designed for the border?  When I looked at the rug like that…I had my answer.  I would never have designed a border like this for this rug center!!!!  So I grabbed the scissors and some notebook paper and started cutting out shapes and templates to fiddle with.  I designed the border in a way I really like and that frames the center!!!  Now, I just have to hook it…and, of course, reverse hook what I’ve already done!!!  LOL 

So now I have completely redesigned the border and am having a great time this morning working on it!!!  LOL  My mistakes in colours and redesigning in this border area have taught me some great lessons!  : )  I wouldn’t have missed this for the world!!!!  LOL

And awaaaaay we go!!!!!

I’ll post todays picture later this afternoon or evening!!!!  What tremendous fun!!!!

Happy Hooking,  Sunnie  : ) 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

1 thought on “New Hooked Rug – Day 27 ~ Extra : )”

  1. I’m waiting, not so patiently, for the pictures. I’ve read, and re-read, your post and am now excited to see how you’ve redesigned the border.

Leave a Reply

