New Hooked Rug – Homeplace Primitive ~ Sunnie

Today I was able to work on some more of the pond and the second duck!  This rug is fun to do because I really love all the animals!!!!  ; )  The only thing I find difficult is the size  of the rug…it is 3 feet by 5 feet…and when a lot of it gets hooked, it gets heavy to swing around on my Snap Dragon frame!!!  LOL  : )

Beautiful day today in Vermont…but started out pretty chilly!!!!  Happy Hooking!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

7 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Homeplace Primitive ~ Sunnie”

  1. Sunnie, I’ve been watching, well lurking. Now I have to tell you….you’re doing an INCREDBLE job on this rug. You know if you get it finished before Nov. 30th you can enter it in “Celebrations”. I know I would vote for you. Keep up the amazing work!

  2. Thank you Sheri…what a nice comment!!! : ) I hope to finish the rug during October…but am keeping my fingers crossed!!!!! : )

    I hadn’t thought about submitting a rug for “Celebrations” as I am not one of the “really experienced” rug hookers. LOL But if this rug turns out to be a nice one, maybe I’ll think about it!!!!

    Thanks again for the encouragement!!
    Hugs to you, Sunnie : )

  3. Hey Sunnie…I didn’t realize that this rug was 3×5…holy schmoly, woman! It looks like a fun rug to do…and you’re doing a great job. No surprise there, though. I’ve not worked on my big a** star rug for almost 2 months…gotten involved with other projects. But, the time is comin…

  4. Thanks, Jacque…it is a really fun rug to work on but it is the largest one I’ve done. Whew!!!
    I check from time to time to see if you are working on your star rug…but I know other projects can take us over!!!! LOL

    Hugs to you, Sunnie : )

  5. Sunnie~
    Awesome rug!! I have another question?? Do you hook the whole rug (pull up loops) in the same height, or do you hook different length’s for texture if it’s going to be a wall hanging rug?

    ~Anita

  6. Hi Anita:

    Thanks so much!! : )

    On most of the rugs I do, I pull the loops up to the same height…as most of them are for the floor! : )

    (I believe this rug will be in the owner’s bedroom on the floor, but I’m not sure about that.) I would be happy if she would use it as a rug…but, of course, I can’t tell my customers what to do!!!!! LOL

    I try to encourage people to use my rugs as rugs…but many prefer to use them as folk art for the wall!!!!! LOL

    I use several rugs at home on the floor and we walk over them all the time! : ) The wide cut rugs feel so good under your feet!!! The wool is “springy” and soft!!!
    We just vacuum them (not with one of those “super vacs with beater bars!!) and they hold up fine.

    The only hooked pieces of mine that I recommend for the wall are those with human faces…such as a hooked portrait! It just doesn’t seem right to walk over people’s faces!!! : ) LOL

    Hugs to you!! Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

