New Hooked Rug-Homeplace Primitive/Sunnie~Dec 21

Today, I worked on the tree, grass around the sheep, etc.

homeplace21

This is a fun stocking from Log cabin rugs that I had as a portable project (waiting for Dr appointments, riding in the car, etc.).  I wanted it to look very primitive!!!!

stocking1

Happy Hooking!!!

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug-Homeplace Primitive/Sunnie~Dec 21”

  1. Beautiful work! I am just beginning to hook, but with yarn instead of wool strips. Is there an advantage to one over the other? I have been an avid knitter for years, but recently discovered rug hooking – I really like this better than knitting!

  2. I still, and will always, love the Homeplace rug. And the grass around the sheep is so pretty. I really like the mixture of wools you’ve used.

    Sunnie, on the stocking, you said you’ve taken it in the car and for waiting while in the doctor’s office. Do you take a frame when you’re working on this or are you using a hoop?

    I’m still hoping Joe is feeling better and better each and every day.

  3. Hi JoJo!!!
    Thank you…I’m really enjoying this rug too!! It’s such fun! : )

    Yes, I take my small, “sit-upon” frame with me when I travel…and my scissors, hooks and wool in a ziplock bag. It is surprising how much you can get done while waiting for appointments, etc. I was taking Joe to the doctor several times this month so I was waiting for him.

    I bought my small frame from the Purple Crow on eBay…but I don’t know if they are still in business. It has a small frame size (about 12 x 14, I think so it is easy to handle. (I hate hoops!!!!!) LOL

    I take it with me when we travel too and Joe is driving (!!). It is relaxing and pleasant to hook for awhile in the car.

    Joe is feeling almost back to normal!!! Hooray!! (but I think I’m getting his cold…yukkk!!) LOL I should be over it soon (I hope)!
    Hugs to you, Sunnie 🙂

  4. Hi Diane:

    Hooray for hooking!! Hope you love it!!! : )

    There are many rug hookers who hook with yarn…but many of us prefer the wool fabric strips instead. I think it is a matter of taste. : )

    If you’ve ever read Joel and Kate Kopp’s book “American Hooked and Sewn Rugs”, you can find all types of rugs… some with yarns and some with strips!!!

    Whatever you do, have fun with it and really enjoy the whole process!!!! Welcome to the wonderful world of hooking!!
    Warm Regards, Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

