New Hooked Rug – Homeplace Primitive/Sunnie~Jan 06

Filling in more of the border on the left today…rather boring but it’s nice to keep doing the border with the rest of the rug.  (So that I don’t have the whole border to do at the end of the hooking!!!!!!! ) LOL

I am experimenting with the leaves on the sunflowers and will change them to the look I like best when I have them all hooked.  I’m keeping them simple!!  : ) 

Also, I might define the line between the tree trunk and the border a bit more…but will see how the rug looks when the left side is all hooked!  Also when I stand back and look at the entire rug I can see what needs to be changed or adjusted!!  : )

homeplace06

Happy Hooking!!!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Homeplace Primitive/Sunnie~Jan 06”

  1. Sunnie,
    After I hook a bit, I put it over the couch and sit back, then stare at it awhile. It always helps to step back and see how the design is evolving. Sometimes I am not happy with something, but I will wait till I hook more or around it, then I can decide whether it needs to be changed.

    Debbie

  2. Hi Debbie…I do the same thing, drape it or hang it up and stare at it for awhile!!

    This rug is so large that in my small home there isn’t a place to hang it!!!!! (and we don’t have a couch!!) LOL So I put it on the floor and go part way up the stairs and stare down at it!!!!!

    I like to experiment with things, so I just leave them in until I have that section finished and then change or adjust if needed!!!
    Hugs, Sunnie : )

  3. Hi Sunnie !~ this is in reply to your comment on my blog (I commented there, too) ~ yes, those forums are open to all ~ just sign up!

    And I love that you go up the stairs to view your rug ~ that’s funny ~ a good idea, but funny!!! It’s looking very gorgeous, you know!!! Happy Hooking ~ Alice

  4. Thank you, Alice, for posting the forums on your blog!!! And thanks for letting us know that they are open to all !! : )

    Yes, it is funny to use the stairs as a “viewing platform”!!!! LOL But we have such small rooms and no wall space for such a large rug…so it’s gotta be the stairs!!

    Hugs to you, Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

