New Hooked Rug – Homeplace Primitive – Sunnie~Jan 28

More progress on the Homeplace Primitive!!  : )  I am filling in the little flowers and the background.  The border is finished except for checking for “holidays”…and I will do that on the whole rug when I finish hooking!  Then to the steaming and drying!!!!!    As you can see, I’ve done some flowers a little “dull” and some bright so that they all don’t look the same over the whole rug!  and I love the plaid grass!!!  : )

I left the bottom center of the rug until last as I’m not sure what I’ll put there.  Could be more flowers, could be the word “homeplace”, could be the new doggie in the family…gotta think about it!!!  LOL

homeplace28500

Happy Hooking!!  We’re in the middle of a wild snowstorm!!!!

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

5 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Homeplace Primitive – Sunnie~Jan 28”

  1. Love it, love it, LOVE IT! I’ve loved this rug since you posted the first picture of it. To me, the flowers appeal the most but the whole rug is so wonderful. I can hardly wait to see how you finish off the bottom edge. And yes, the grass is spectacular! Who knew that a green plaid would look that great?

  2. I also meant to say that we only got another dusting of snow from this storm. But the bitter cold of the past few days moderated today and all of the “dusting” was gone by noon today. Now I can walk down our driveway again without any fear of falling!

    It was a late night last night…..we didn’t get home from pool until 12:30 so it was a short night. At least I won my match……very handily, I might add. But it sure made for a sleepy day today.

    If and when it stops snowing, could you please take another picture of the yard? I just want to be thankful and say thanks to God that we only got the slight amount of snow that we did. I so feel for those who got the ice and are without power.

  3. Sunnie~
    Your rug is awesome. I can see you ‘downsized’ your dogs, looks like they were painted on. Can I pet them. Beautiful!!
    I love the green plaid grass. In fact I’ve always loved plaids and @ one time owned a lot of blazers in plaids of all colors. Used to drive the the girlfriends crazy. They’d say, “You’ll drive the guys away if you wear that ugly plaid jacket… (((Laughing…)))

    Anyway, your work of art is a beauty, thanks for sharing… ~Anita

  4. Very pretty rug. I have always wanted to try rug hooking but right now I just have too much going on and no place near me that teaches. Maybe someday I’ll have a go at it but for now I’ll just admire everyone elses rugs.

  5. Thank you JoJo, Anita and Jen…I am really having fun with this rug, as you know!!! : )

    Jen…there is a time and place for everything, and when the time is right, you’ll know it!!! We who do hook appreciate the encouragement and kind words from those who enjoy what we do.

    I have been hooking for 4 years and before that I had been a folk artist and Santa artist for many years. I’ve done dollmaking, stained glass, embroidery, woodworking, weaving and feltmaking as well as quilting through the years. I enjoyed each art/craft piece I did at the time but then went on to something else!! ; )

    For me, rug hooking is peaceful and simple yet you can do so much with it. All there is is the frame, the backing, the hook and the wool (either yarn or wool fabric strips). It is portable and can be as “artistic “as you like.

    A class is wonderful and the best place to learn…but you can teach yourself from books and DVD’s. I recommend Gene Shepherd’s DVD (see his Blog on my blog list) as you can see his hands up close and watch the technique!

    Hugs to you and thanks to all for visiting and encouraging me in my hooking adventures!! Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

