Hooked Rug-Edge Finishing-Extra~ Sunnie

I am about halfway around the Homeplace rug doing the edge-whipping with wool yarn.  I thought you might like to see the finishing that I do for a floor rug.  : )

I chose a gray-brown wool to whip the edge.  I often don’t use “matching “wool for the edge-whipping but something that just blends with the last rows of hooking.

rug-edge500

Rug Tape is first hand-sewn around the rug edge close to the last line of hooking!  I whip over both the tape and the backing  underneath as I think it makes a stronger, more protected edge.

rug-edge2500

Happy Hooking!!  Sunnie  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

One thought on “Hooked Rug-Edge Finishing-Extra~ Sunnie”

  1. I am trying to find out how to finish a hooked rug with wrapped over cording at the edge. Do you have any info or were a could find it. Thank you Sally from Indiana

Leave a Reply

