New Hooked Rug-Starting DAY ONE/Mystery/ Sunnie

Hooray!  Finally can start daily posts of my new “Mystery Rug”!!  : )

Unlike my two previous “Daily Post” rugs, this is a rug of my own design.  I have used the Creative Cutting method of designing this rug which is when you take a few sheets of scrap or copier paper, cut out shapes at random and arrange those shapes on a rug backing.  I usually cut about 10-12 shapes.

As you move the shapes around, a rug design idea emerges.  It is similar to looking at cloud shapes and seeing what they look like!!!  : )  You can use some of your shapes, delete some and add others.  When you have arranged them to suit yourself…draw around them as you would templates and then start hooking! LOL

I am not going to show you the whole rug as I go along but only the parts I am hooking on!  The completed rug will be shown at the end!!!  LOL

The only hint is that I was looking at some antique draperies before I started cutting!!!

HERE WE GO!!!  DAY 1

mysteryday1500

***  Oh yes, if you use the Creative Cutting method to design a rug, please send me a picture!!  I’d love to see what you are up to!     Happy Hooking!!  Sunnie  : ) 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

7 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug-Starting DAY ONE/Mystery/ Sunnie”

  1. One of these days I am definitely going to try that technique of yours! Can’t wait to see the bits and pieces, and we’ll all be on pins and needles until the grand reveal. Have fun!
    Deb

  2. It looks like paisley!! And I love your idea of a mystery rug ~ we’ll all be on pins and needles waiting for each new installment!!! You’re a clever one, girlfriend!!
    Alice

  3. You are always doing something wonderful and creative Sunnie! I have learned so much from watching your progress on your other rugs that you journaled about. I feel that we are all in for another colorful adventure! Especially since you said you were in a “goofy” mood! Are you able to tell us the size of the rug…or is it a secret?
    Hugs,
    Lauri

  4. I’m here from The Welcome Mat where I read your reference to this new project.
    I can’t wait to see how it progresses!

Leave a Reply

