New Hooked Rug-MYSTERY2/Day 3 ~ Sunnie

I am really enjoying this rug…right at the beginning!!!!  Do you notice the antique black line around the boot and see how it shows the motif off better than the green line did  (It does look like an elfin boot, doesn’t it Lauri?  But not quite!!!) LOL

I am really surprised at the colours I am using on this piece!  Now, you say, “How can you be surprised when you are choosing the colours yourself?”  LOL   When I do a rug like this (or when I do most any rug, mat or chairpad!!!)  I hang it up and look at it carefully as I go along…choosing colours that I feel will go with what I’ve already done as well as be “right” for the design I’m doing.

When I started this rug, I had a vague idea of the colours I might use.  I find that I am not doing my first thought at all…but choosing wools from my stash leading me in a different direction!  This is why I love doing my own designs and choosing my own colours without a lot of planning in advance! 

If I had chosen wools for this rug, planned it out and bought or collected all the wool for each part of the design, where would the surprise be?  The serendipity?  The excitement wondering where the adventure would lead?  All that, along with a deep sense of peace and contentment, is what rug hooking is for me.  Also, it is a celebration of my own joy, my own personality and what my creative soul brings to the world.  Each of us does this experience in our own way…and each way is of value and worthy of our notice!  : )

mystery2day3500

Happy Hooking!!!  What fun!  ; )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

