New Hooked Rug-MYSTERY2/Day 4~Sunnie

Here we go with more colourful wools!!!  : )  I’m really enjoying this rug too…and it’s even more fun as I go along!!!  LOL  Hooray for whimsical, wacky designs in  rug hooking!!!  : )

mystery2day4500

Happy Hooking!!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

4 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug-MYSTERY2/Day 4~Sunnie”

  1. It is such fun to watch you express yourself through your hooking. Your free spirit is exciting and gives us permission to break the rules by not planning everything in advance! And we love breaking the rules! Thank you!
    Lauri

  2. Thank you, Lauri…! : )

    I do hope that those who are hesitating to design something themselves and have fun with it will see that we all have permission to do that…even if it is only one piece!! : ) LOL

    Although I DO appreciate the talented teachers out there, I also feel that we shouldn’t think that they are the only ones who can direct our own hooking!!

    I have known hookers who have taken out much of what they have done (and really liked!!) because a teacher said she didn’t like something!

    I also have known hookers who planned a rug they were excited about and then ended up doing it differently (and were unhappy) because the teacher said she wanted the rug done Her way and not the student’s way!!

    In my opinion, the best teachers are those who inspire, guide and help students to do the rug the student wants to do! Of course, if it is a special technique, rules must be followed…but what we want is someone who can help us to achieve our own vision if we can’t do it ourselves!!! : )

    There are many beautiful hooked rugs done by those who are experimenting or are letting their spirits shine…and there are many beautiful hooked rugs done by those who are guided through every step of the process by a teacher.

    We have lots of choices and I encourage those who want to try to design and hook something of their own!!!! : ) Hey, if they don’t like doing it, they don’t ever have to do another!!!!!! LOL Hugs, Sunnie : )

  3. Sunnie, you make an excellent teacher through your blog. I so agree with Lauri that you’re a free spirit and your hooking is such a reflection of you and your personality.

    I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your way of not color planning a rug. Color planning is something that makes me want to pull out my hair. I’m much more excited to just pull colors that I like and see if they fit together, making changes if I want to and not necessarily because I need to.

    Thank you for doing your blog. And by doing so, you teach, inspire and cheer lead for those of us who stop by to see what you’re up to.

  4. Thank you, JoJo…!!! : )

    So many of us appreciate you and your support and encouragement of even our most “experimental” rug hooking adventures!!! : ) I’m glad you enjoy the “adventure” part of colours in rugs!!!! : )

    After all, we grow by trying something new…and, as I said, if we don’t enjoy the “original designing-no colour planning-experimental” way of rug hooking, we don’t ever have to do another project that way!!!!! LOL

    Happy Hooking!!!! Hugs, Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

