New Hooked Rug-MYSTERY 2/Day 22~Sunnie

Almost to the finish line!!!!  This has been such fun!!! LOL 

Now I can start to tell you what the inspiration for this rug was.  I had seen a black and white,  medieval woodcut illustration that really made me smile…but I wanted to do “my own thing” as usual!!!  LOL

I took my version (or adaptation) of the head and torso of the woodcut and looked at some other medieval designs for the rest of the body!  I wanted a “goofy” looking figure as the name for the rug had just popped into my head!  : )  I drew what I liked and then designed the rest of the rug to carry out my theme.  The boots reminded me of early peasant clothing and the pictures of “fancy” men’s clothing  (noblemen, kings, etc.) from the past made me think of combining them to make a whimsical figure!   : )  (Love the stockings!!) LOL

As I said at the start…I thought of using bright, crayon colours, but decided to use deeper, more “regal” colours even though this was a mix of “king and peasant” dress!!!  LOL  Then, the idea of creating a changing border went along with the theme and title of this rug.  And “Voila”..I was off and running (hooking!!!)  LOL

mysteryday22500

Happy Hooking!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug-MYSTERY 2/Day 22~Sunnie”

  1. Oh, I do love this piece, it is fun, colorful and puts a smile on my face.
    I cannot wait to see the face. Love how you did the border too. I have not had much time to hook and what I am hooking is practical for the floor. I really miss doing something for fun, so will have to think of a fun idea for me to do.

    Debbie

  2. Hi Alice and Deb…this really has been a fun piece to do, with lots of experiments which is what I like. It is true that I find (after doing one of these humorous rugs) that regular rugs seem pretty tame!!!!! LOL

    I guess it is just my own “goofyness” coming out when I do these funny rugs…and it just feels “natural”!! LOL
    Hugs, Sunnie ; )

  3. Sunnie, He’s GREAT!!! I haven’t seen your progress in a while. What a surprise!!! I love him. You always do such beautiful work. And the whimsy makes everyone smile!

  4. Thank you, Sheri…I love doing the funny work! LOL

    It makes me smile too, as I work on it! And when it comes out the way I thought it might…it’s just delightful for me!! Hugs, Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

