New Hooked Rug – Peaceful Country/Sunnie

It’s almost a New Year…and I’m looking forward to hooking a new Blog rug soon! 

I thought you might enjoy seeing the simple little rug I am hooking on now.  This one was just drawn on the backing with no pattern…and I am using many leftover woolworms in the mix.

I like photographing a rug in progress as it helps me to adjust the colours and see where I need a little “tweaking”!!!  LOL  For instance, that one very light strip above the wagon needs to be changed for one that will blend in better.   Although the dark blue “flowers” in the wagon do not stand out, I need “dark” colours to balance the darks of the barn in the upper right.

The flowers on the lower right are just drawn on as a guide…they will be changed as needed as I go.   When I do a rug like this, I simply use all the motifs as guides and I don’t worry about changing most things as I go along!!!!!

Happy Hooking…and I hope you will all have many beautiful wools in your New Year’s basket for 2010!

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug – Peaceful Country/Sunnie”

  1. You’re back on the creative path!! Not that you probably were ever off ~ we just haven’t heard much from you! This is such a cute little rug ~ looks just like you with it’s scenery and little lambs and fun flowers!! Happy New Year to you and your husband, Sunnie!

  2. Hi Alice!!! Yep…I’m back!! LOL I’ve been creative but short on time to post! : )

    I have a customer who wants a peaceful rural small rug to go with another one of my rugs, so I am using some of the same colours in the larger rug and keeping this one soft and low on detail. I’ll do another one or two with different themes and she can choose which one she likes best! ; )

    After I do these small rugs , I’ll do another Blog rug too. It’ll be fun!! Happy New Year to you and Sonny! Hugs to you, Wool Sister!! Sunnie ; )

Leave a Reply

