New Hooked Rug – Fraktur Memories/Sunnie

We have finished our SMILE Creative Challenge on Rug Hooking Daily and I am delighted with all the 15 rugs/mats that were done by the members of our group.  I hope to post them here but must get permission first.  I think you would enjoy seeing their creative work!!!  ; )

I am finishing up a small rug  14 inches by 24 inches and am enjoying using the #4 and #5 cuts. (photo below)   I did my Smile challenge rug in those cuts and enjoyed it so much I want to do more.  That is what experimentation and adventure gets you! LOL    I usually use #8 cuts with some #6…but I am enjoying the narrower cuts now too.  The rug below is #4, #5 cuts with some #6 cuts at the edge.

“Fraktur Memories-Birdsong” (c) sunnie andress 2010

I really enjoy the Pennsylvania German fraktur watercolours and drawings and use them and antique samplers as the inspiration for some of my original rug designs and adaptations.  Although the rug above looks symmetrical, you will see that it is a little different on each side.  Since the fraktur drawings were hand-done, many of them have this whimsical “slightly off” quality that appeals to me!!!  (Why are you not surprised!!) LOL  You will see these motifs used by many artists in many different ways….we all love inspiration!

I hope you are all well and hooking away or doing what you love! : )  I will try to do another Blog rug…maybe another mystery…if I can arrange my time properly to do it.  ; )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

