Rug Hooking/Forest Secrets Challenge Finished-Sunnie’s Rug

This has been such a fun creative challenge!!!  : )

Sometimes we get into a “rut” where we do the same type of rug, use the same cut of wool or yarn and wish we could try something new and different!  The creative challenge exercise gives us the chance to do just that!  We might want to try textures, proddy, fabrics other than wool, a “far out design” or new colour…and try them out on a small project before attempting to do them on a larger rug.

This Forest Secrets Creative Challenge had very few “rules”…we were to think about secrets, of course, and things that we might find in or around woods and forests.   We have stories that go with the rugs/mats explaining why we did what we did!!  We could be abstract, very detailed and realistic, whimsical…whatever we wished.  But there were three things that we must have in our designs…

A Rock

A Ring

and a touch of Royal Purple

The great fun was to see how each of us worked with or got around, the rules!!!

I will post some of the other pictures from our challenge in a few days, after I have permission from everyone and when I am sure we have all the rugs in our rug show!  As always, our rugs are copyrighted original creations that we enjoy sharing with you all, but they are not to be copied by others.  If we have inspired you to do your own “Forest Secrets” creation, we’d love to see it.  ; )

Here is mine…called “The Watcher”

(c) sunnie andress 2010

My challenge rug (23″ x 22 1/2″) is loosely based on the legend of the “green man” or forest spirit.  Sometimes, when walking in the woods or forest of trees, there will be just a flicker of motion that I see.  But when I turn to look,  I cannot see anything there.

My poem, a Haiku, kept me focused on my theme…

Enter the forest.

Hidden in the deep shadows,

The Spirit watches.

I looked at many pictures of  forests, woods, stone and wood carvings, and the green man in folk stories…and decided what I wanted the piece to express.  I wanted the Watcher to be mysterious and intense, but still peaceful and a celebration of life and nature.  I like to think that, when I am walking in the woods, there is a benevolent spirit watching over me and over all who live and travel there.

The “gold ring” is plain to see at the bottom of the piece and the “touch of Royal Purple ” is on the face and in the middle of some of the leaves.  I had intended to add a real “rock” to my piece or hook part of a rock wall…but I thought my design looked better without either…so I got around the “rule” by putting the letters R-O-C-K on the veins of the leaves on the right hand side of the rug!!  (we can see what we can get away with here!) LOL

I used many different darks and many leftover “woolworms” (strips) in #4, 5, 6 and 8 cuts for the piece, choosing the colours of greens I thought would add a touch of mystery and keeping it dark.  The deep woods has a mystery all its own, and I think that is where the “Watcher” can be found.

I hope you enjoy seeing this rug and the others I will add next week!  Happy Hooking to you all!  Sunnie  ; )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “Rug Hooking/Forest Secrets Challenge Finished-Sunnie’s Rug”

  1. Thank you, Alice and Jacque!!! We’ve had such fun with this challenge!!! : )
    I am doing Heidi’s Mixed Media challenge now that his one is finished…I have several ideas but not decided yet!! (we have until December!)
    I finished chairpads for a customer and am doing some other small rugs and chairpads for the Gallery. Then…who knows what I’ll do!!! LOL
    Hugs to you both, Sunnie 😉

Leave a Reply

