New Hooked Rug-Little Allerton-Day 4/rug hooking/Sunnie

Little Allerton – Day 4

As I mentioned yesterday, I try to do my background as I go so I do not have a lot of the same hooking to do at the finish of my rug!  This way of working also lets me see more quickly if I need to rethink and/or change something that is not working with the background I’ve chosen.

I think now, with the decision to use the lavenders and lavender-pinks on this dark background, I may change the colour of the “birdlike” motifs in the corners. (  I am not sure if these corner additions were meant to be a part of the scroll border or if they were to be hooked in a different colour!!)  LOL  Who knows what the designer had in mind!!!! : )

Here is the progress for today:

I am happy with the bronze, but when I held up some other lavenders that I want to use, the tan-grey seems really dull.  So I will try another colour in the opposite corner before I take it out.  And I’ll hook some of the next lavender in the next flower to see if my “impression” is correct.  ; )   I always advise new students to wait to pull something out (unless a gross error has been made!!!!)  to see if it really looks wrong with the other colours around it.  I know I have learned a lot by not being too hasty in “reverse hooking” (LOL)

I love using this plaid for the backing…there are shadings in the background that make it much more interesting to me while still “reading” as a solid!  : )

May all your woolworms find a place in your next rug!!!!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  ; )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

