New Hooked Rug-Little Allerton-Day 5/rug hooking/Sunnie

Little Allerton – Day 5

It’s getting more fun by the day!!!!  : )  I am enjoying working with these colours and seeing how they look with the deep background.  I have looked at some of the antique rugs with similar colour plans and I really like them.

Now in this day 5 picture,  I want you to look at the top leaf and see why I need to adjust the colours on it.  : )  This mistake is easy to see…if you look at the other leaves in the photo.  Do you see that the upper leaf doesn’t have the slight shading and change of colour on the edge that the other leaves do? 

Although, when I am close to the work, the leaf colours don’t look so bad…but when photographing the rug and standing back to look at it, you can see the rather “colouring book” look of that top leaf.  The left hand side looks like I just put a solid colour there and then filled in the center!!!  LOL  (I wanted to show you the mistake so you could see the difference when I correct it…!!!)

If you will look at the leaves again, you will see that I have used a lavender and blue plaid for the veins and have added a few loops of other colours in the leaf.  This is more of the folk art style, and not fine cut shading as I just add the extra colour (leftover woolworms!!!  LOL) wherever I think it should be and not for any “realistic” reason…realistic shading below.  : )

I am using a 6 value swatch for the flowers…but using the colours in a simple way…just the darker three in the center and the lighter three on the outer flower part. ( BTW…the colour swatches I am using for these flowers is called “Wisteria” and is available through Winterberry Cabin online.  Phyllis does beautiful dye work and I order swatches from her.  I do not do swatch sets although I do dye much of my own wool!!) 

Enjoy your day!!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  ; )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

