New Hooked Rug-Little Allerton-Day 9/rug hooking/Sunnie

Little Allerton – Day 9

I was able to get quite a bit done for today’s post!!!  I did work on background and on those “scrolls”.  I think I will look at them as just a “fence” around a garden…but I can always add an outline on each scroll later when I get more of the rug finished…if I think it would look better. 

 I like to do that rather than take out and hook in and take out & hook in when I don’t have the other hooking done around the section.  Sometimes it is much easier to decide if you’ve made an error if you leave the motif in until the background and some of the other surrounding motifs have been hooked.  : )

You can see that I did take out the dull colour for the “birdlike” motif in the corner and found one of my hand-dyed wools to try it in green.   Since I am using a “blue-green” swatch set for the larger center leaves, I used a more “yellow green” for the 2 small center leaves…and this hand-dyed wool had a yellow-green cast.

When quite a bit of the rug is finished, I can see if a blue or turquoise would be appropriate for the “birdlike” motifs…and make them birds!!!  LOL  But I don’t know if adding a blue there in the corners would look good.  We shall see !!!

Have a pleasant day today…we are voting in a Primary today here in Vermont!  Happy Hooking!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

