New Hooked Rug-Little Allerton-Day 11/rug hooking/Sunnie

Little Allerton – Day 11

I continue hooking on the border so I can get an idea of the whole rug!  One little trick that I learned early on (when doing a rug and experimenting along the way!!!) was to do part of the center and then do a corner of the border so I could get a vision of the rug as a whole.  This really helps if you are designing the rug as you go…as I sometimes do when doing my own original designs.

I like to do commercial designs for some of the Blog rugs so that you can purchase the pattern and hook the rug too, if you find it to your liking!!!  : )

I decided to add a “yellow-green” leaf, a small one, to the border…instead of making all the border leaves blue-green!  There are only 4 of these small leaves on the border and, if I keep the yellow green “birdlike” motifs, doing this carries the yellow-green into the border as well as the center.  If I decide to change colour,  it is easy to change the leaves!

I tried three wools for the stems in the border.  The first was a green plaid that did not look good as it drew attention to the stems!!!!  Now stems may be necessary but not as a focal point!!!!!  LOL  (Unless you are doing a “Stems” rug!!!!  : )   ….The second was the same blue/green plaid as the veins on the leaves…didn’t look good to me so I tried again!  The third is a brown plaid that looks like stems, does not draw a lot of attention to itself and blends with the bronze-gold scrolls…so that’s what I am using!  : )  

 Don’t be afraid to experiment with your colours!   One of the reasons that I do not like to “colour plan” rugs with everything at the beginning is that I often change my mind as I go along.  Sometimes wools do not hook up like you think they will…especially when using plaids!  Now here again…if you are doing some fine cut design that needs to be carefully planned, that is a different story.  But as you know, if you have followed my work, I do not do rugs like that.  : )  In the world of whimsy, original design, experimentation and “what if I do this…!!!”, colour planning everything just doesn’t fly.

In this rug, as I have said, I am using what I have here except for the 6 value swatches from Winterberry Cabin!!!

Here is today’s photo…

May you have a day filled with fun today!!!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

