New Hooked Rug-Little Allerton-Day 22/rug hooking/Sunnie

Little Allerton – Day 22    ………creativity, hooked rugs, folk art, fiber art,  hooked rugs in progress, women artists, wool

A quick post today!  Happy Labour Day!

I am working on another part of the border…the opposite side from my finished border section!  I hope you will try hooking your background as you go along if you have been bored out of your mind (!!!) lol…doing the background after all the motifs have been hooked!!! ( I don’t know how many rug hookers I have heard complain about a lot of one colour background left to do!)!  😉

I have hooked the two leaves that are the more “yellow-green” and then will use the more “blue-green” swatches to hook the rest.

Sometimes I like to hook around a motif before hooking it.  I find that I keep within the pattern a bit better if I do that, especially when hooking motifs that need to be about the same size, etc.  On rugs like this one, where there are a lot of the same type of flower, I try to make them a little different but not too much! ( Probably my “not to have everything matching” phobia!!!)  LOL

Have a great day!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

