New Hooked Rug-Little Allerton-Day 27/rug hooking/Sunnie

Little Allerton – Day 27    …….hooked rugs, creativity, creative life, wool, folk art, fiber art

Hooray…got quite a bit done for today’s post.  (my leg feels better too!) 😉

I decided to hook these flowers a bit differently than the other purple ones, although I am hooking them in the same purple.  (the 6 value swatches)    The previous flowers have been hooked with colour 1 on the outside petals, then 2 then 3.  The inside petals have colour 6 as the outline then 5 and then 4 on the inside.

For these border flowers, I will change the design first…making three inside petals instead of the two and and a detached petal… (you can see the original design on the right)  Then starting with colour 2 on the outside and doing two rows, then colour 3 finishing the outside flower.   The inside petals have the colour 6 outline, then colour 5 and then another colour I found in my stash called “Iris”. ( I’m not sure where I got the iris wool!) 

This changing a little gives a small difference in the look of the flowers but not much…but I prefer doing that, not only for myself (as it is more fun for me to experiment and do things a bit differently!) but also to keep the rug from being “matched”.   When I used to hook little original dolls, they were each different…but I had a neighbor who made Raggedy Ann dolls and her goal was to make them Exactly Alike!!!  🙂 so we each have our own ways of working and doing what we think pleasing!)

I hope to get the other flower finished for the post tomorrow…and more of the background.  This has really been great fun!  : )

Happy Hooking!  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Hooked Rug-Little Allerton-Day 27/rug hooking/Sunnie”

  1. Thank you Alice…yep…I have been taking care!!! 😉 I can still hook with my leg up on a pillow on a chair!!!!! LOL

    My leg looks awful as it is now that dark purple and yellow (ick!!) but it feeels a lot better!!!
    Hugs to you, Wool sister!! 😉

Leave a Reply

