Mixed Media Hooked Rug-“Nature’s Simplicity”/Sunnie

I thought you might enjoy seeing the small challenge piece I just finished for Heidi’s Mixed Media Challenge…ending Dec. 31, 2010. 

 We  were to use at least 2 traditional textile methods…I used rug hooking, applique, hand sewing & penny rug embroidery…and we were to add some unusual items (I used a few strips of clear plastic bags that I hooked into the moon) . Also crystal beads in the moon.

 I also did some beading with wood and metal beads, added some wooden buttons and added some brass rings from the hardware store.  We were to illustrate a favourite quote…and I chose this one.  “Simplicity is indeed often the sign of truth and a criterion of beauty”. by  Mahlon Hoagland

Below is a closeup of the beading…

I did enjoy doing this challenge…it is quite different from my usual work…but that is what a challenge is for, isn’t it?  🙂   To stretch ourselves!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

5 thoughts on “Mixed Media Hooked Rug-“Nature’s Simplicity”/Sunnie”

  1. Sunnie,
    As usual, a beautiful piece created by one very special woman. May 2011 bring peace and happiness to you and yours. It is an honored to be one of your Internet friends. Thanks for sending us here in the South the snow flurries today. But you can keep the heavier stuff up there.
    Best to you

  2. Sunnie,
    I love your rug and interpretation of a great quote! I am glad to see you posting again also! Hope you had a wonderful Christmas and Best Wishes for the coming new year!
    Cathy G

Leave a Reply

