New Mystery Rug-2011/Day 4/Sunnie/Old Crow Farm

old crow farm, folk art, rug hooking, hooked rugs, 2011, creative life

Here we are at Day 4…the green/brown in the photo is that green/brown plaid.  I like the way it hooks up!!!

One of the interesting things about doing a rug where you plan colours as you go and use what you have on hand, is the training to really Look at the colours!!!  Now I know that sounds rather stupid as , of course, we look at the colours we use!  🙂  But as I go through my stash and really look at the different colours in each piece…even the base wool used for the hand-dyed wools…I learn something new and useful.  I didn’t really care for the “confetti” wool after I bought it, but I like that it hooks up in a pleasant “cream with accents” way!!!  I’m enjoying using it in this piece!!!

As you know, if you have visited here before, I use a lot of plaids in my hooking these days.  I love the energy, movement and yes, even sparkle, in the way that the colours of the plaid blend in the hooking.  It changes a plain background to a more interesting one in my way of thinking.  Or it adds a bit of shading without having to actually DO shading!!!  lol    Of course, I do “primitive”, “wide cut” or “folk art style” rugs and the plaids are more appropriate there than in fine cut floral shading!!   🙂

I am hooking this rug in #6 and #8 mostly…but using a #5 or a hand-cut strip where I need them. 

Happy Hooking…I’m glad you are watching this rug come “to life” along with me!!  : )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

