New Mystery Rug-2011/Day 13/Sunnie/Old Crow Farm

primitive hooked rugs, folk art, fiber art, wool, vt.art, creative life

Woo Hoo!!!!  Zipping right along here and, boy, have I done more “imitation” shading here than I’ve done before!!!!  As I mentioned…on other rugs I have done, I usually buy 6 or 8 value swatches to do shading.   (I do not dye those myself!!!!)  LOL   Here, as you can see, I am just using dark, light and medium to give the illusion of shading.  🙂

 Even when using the value swatches, I don’t do the “fine” shading that is done on those lovely floral rugs from times past.  I simply hook so that a shaded “effect” is given.  That is more of a folk art style…where the work in not sophisticated or “trained” by experts or teachers.   I am primarily self-taught…although I have taken a few workshops from hooking teachers.  I simply take whatever new idea I see in that workshop and use it if it can fit in with the type of hooking I do.  

 I think it is important to develop your own style of hooking…whatever makes you happy!!  🙂  There are so many techniques and teachers out there to show us new things or help us to develop new ideas if we want them to do so…that we should be able to do whatever we want..!!!   Just try to not be stressed or feel pressured to always follow someone else’s “rules”.   Relax and enjoy…the Rug Police are not out today!!!  lol  🙂

I hope you will try some primitive (or faux!!!) shading if you haven’t already!!!  Get out your wools, find a dark, a light and some mediums (and a few odd woolworms too!!) and go for it!!!  It really is great fun!!!  🙂

I wish for you a really “light-hearted” day!!  (it’s cooold outside here…but we are snuggy by the woodstove!!!)  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug-2011/Day 13/Sunnie/Old Crow Farm”

  1. Adding “light-hearted” to the list of word clues. I get the feeling there might be some kind of clock or robe in there from the white and blue. Still pondering.

    Am I the only one trying to figure it out?

Leave a Reply

