New Mystery Rug 2011 Day 29/FINISHED!/Sunnie Old Crow Farm

artist, whimsy, color, humor, rug hooking, hooked rugs, creative life, fiber art, folk art

TA DAH!!!!!!  Day 29 and the Mystery rug… “Medieval Advertising” is finished!  I have had such fun on this one…and many giggles along the way! 🙂

I’m going to reprint some of my earlier post… with a few additions… on the reason for this rug!  LOL

Some time ago, I found several illustrations in a book of medieval designs (in black and white) that were of old playing cards, old woodcuts and of medieval “daily life”.

Many of the illustrations are very somber and serious…but this drawing had a rather “royal lovers in the garden” look…!!!!   When I saw the drawing, I thought all of the drapes and folds would be good to practice fine shading with 6 or 8 value swatches. I copied it and pinned it up in my studio.   Many months went by and I was busy with other things…but television, especially on one evening, changed the way I looked at this design! My husband and I watch television, but mostly Public television. We do go to commercial tv to watch some news programs and some special programs like 60 Minutes.

Because we don’t watch shows that are considered for the “young and the go-getters” (LOL)…almost all of the ads are geared for the elderly (which we are!!!!)   For the most part, the advertising is absolutely ridiculous…for instance showing a construction worker happily starting his day wearing “adult protective undergarments” that now come in colours! (the colour seems to make a big change in his life!!!)  If/When I need these items, I doubt that the colour will send me into joyful and ecstatic celebration!!!!!  🙂

Also, commercials show endless couples becoming “sexually frisky” (!!) when the man takes a particular drug and the walls of the house turn into streams, forests or the opera (!!) and they end up sitting in two bathtubs watching the sunset! : )    We get ads for thinning hair or hair dye, ads for bowel preparations, and ads for sleepless nights and upset stomachs! LOL    Of course, we sometimes need the items advertised but do we really need to view people as their “problems”?    🙂    And one night, we seemed to see the stupid ad that sparked this rug many times!!! : )  The people are supposedly enjoying a picnic or chomping into an apple in  a “close and tender” moment…and then the ad line flashes across the screen!!!!  LOL

 When I went upstairs to the studio that evening, I saw the little medieval drawing and begin to laugh….as the idea for this rug… ”Medieval Advertising”… popped into my head! LOL    So I changed the faces,  added candy on a stick (!)…and they’ve been chomping away ever since!  🙂 

So here we go with…”Medieval Advertising”….



And the closeup…

 

 

Thank you for following along with me from time to time on this funny rug!  I hope you have enjoyed it and I hope you will try a funny rug sometime too!!!  We can all use a touch of laughter and humor these days!!!! (and you don’t Have to be goofy!!!) LOL

Happy Hooking…and have a wonderful day today!  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

7 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug 2011 Day 29/FINISHED!/Sunnie Old Crow Farm”

  1. Oh, Sunnie ~ you are a character!! I looked at those teeth and thought “oh, my!” and then I read the words!! What a scream!!!!! Great rug ~ great shading ~ and great entertainment as we followed along!!

  2. Thank you, Alice…I just have to laugh at all the really stupid ads we get..!!!
    And we must have seen this ad about three times just while watching some news!!!! Frankly, I’ve never looked at people eating corn, apples, etc. and wondered if either one of them is wearing dentures!!!!!
    (I don’t ask people that I’ve just met if they are constipated either…and hand them something ( with a big smile of course!!) to take care of the problem!!) : ) LOL
    Hugs to you, Sunnie : )

  3. Hi Sunnie, I would have never guessed this in a milliom years. you are very cleaver lady and really creative.

    Thanks for the entertainment. JB

  4. Sunnie,

    Right with you on those ads!! Had figured out the royal attire but not the message. Very timely as I am learning how to use my new choppers. But I don’t need TV to make me feel dumb for not being able to eat some things yet.

  5. Yes, Trisha…those ads are so stupid!!! lol We all have needs for some things, but the ads portray us older folks as really silly!!!!! I can’t imagine skipping around and grinning because my hearing aid would come in colours (!!) or being told by a child what pain pills I should take!!!!! LOL
    It is fun to spoof the ads…especially those that are so ridiculous!
    Hugs to you, Sunnie ;’)

  6. Oh Sunnie, this story is SO funny! And I really laughed when I saw the rug. You have such a great sense of humor!!!

    Like you, I really hate all those stupid “old people” ads, especially all the “friskie” ads about improving your love life! But now there is an ad on TV that something even worse, if you can imagine it! (I saw it the other night on Comedy Central, so at least it’s on cable.)

    This one is geared to young people and features a young girl at her wedding shower, getting a strange little package as a gift. It is a product made by the Trojan Company (yes, THAT Trojan Company! ) for some little gadget to use on her honeymoon to make her experience a little more tingly? And, it too, comes in bright colors!

    Then the ad shows her showing it to her fiance! I am not sure but I think it goes on the finger. This is TOO MUCH!!! I hope no one ever decides to immortalize THAT commercial with a rug! Yuck! 🙂

    Hope you had a wonderful Easter with your hubby and family!
    Hugs, Pat

  7. All these ads! I wish I had Tevo. But what always struck me strange was why these folks weren’t taking their baths BEFORE the union instead of after. The idea would have been more palatable to me.

    I love your Medieval rug. That’s too funny. You have a great sense of humor, and apparently are very talented. Thanks for sharing. Patsye

Leave a Reply

