New Hooked Chairpads/Sunnie/Springtime? : )

Happy April, Everyone!  🙂   Although we here in Northern Vermont had an “April Fool’s Day” snowstorm…(just so Mother Nature could show who’s in charge!!) LOL

These chairpads (finally finished) were fun to do for my customer…to celebrate two cherished pets!  The chairpad edges are now whipped with burgundy coloured yarn.

 (I must do one for myself to celebrate our wonderful cat “Cassie”!!!)  😉

As you can see, the cat is done in a simpler style than the dog.  I had a very good picture of the dog, so that chairpad is more realistic… but the cat is mostly all gray with black nose, etc.  (Very hard for me to do without a lot of intense dyeing of wool, narrow cuts and fine shading to get it photographically correct.)

 So instead of trying for a lot of “realism”…which I don’t do much of anyway!!!!)  LOL…I did the cat in a more folk art style, like a child might colour in a colourbook!!!  This goes better with the dog chairpad, which is more like the photo I received but still shows a folksy quality!!  😉

 Sometimes we need to decide what is important in our work and design if we are doing more than one item for a customer.  Since I am mostly known for the wider cuts and a folk art style,  I try to keep that look in the commissions I do. 

Happy Hooking, Everyone!  We have Extended the deadline for our “Treasures From Grandmother’s Trunk” challenge to April 15th so that those who had a lot of “life” interventions this Winter could have a little more time to work.  So our Rug Show will be on RHDaily forum on the 15th and I will post the photos here after that.

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

