Welcome Autumn in Vermont!!! Sunnie-hooked rugs, Halloween fun, etc.

Wow…it has been along time since I posted here!  We have had a Spring and Summer so busy I couldn’t believe it..!!  : )  We are usually so quiet and boring!! LOL

I have been busy…here are some of the “Twisted Pines” Halloween witches I’ve been creating.  They are certainly whimsical and funny…and I love to sculpt the green faces with the bloodshot eyes!!!!  LOL  I do a lot of laughing as many of them look rather like my family or people I know!  (without the green skin!!!)

These “ladies” are…(top)  “Grizzledean…the cook who loves the weevils in  her flour used for her famous Spider Surprise(!!) because they give her baking that extra crunch!!”

(middle)  “Creepelle”…she and her cat love spreading little dead things around the house!  (our cat does that too!!)  LOL

(bottom)..”.Wykedella”…a “partygirl” witch who is a terrible flirt…especially around handsome ghouls or zombies!!!   LOL

Husband says they all look a bit like my family!!!!!  LOL (I’ll start on his family next!!!)  Happy Halloween!!  They are heading off to the Grand Isle Art Works Gallery to do some haunting there! : )

I have been working on a new pattern design and trying to find a way to sell paper patterns so the cost will not be so high and people can put the designs on their own choice of backing. (I only use primitive linen)  Hopefully, I can find a way!  ; )

This little rug is half of the “Sunflower Lane” runner and it can be hooked by itself as “Sunflower Cottage”!  (Of course, the runner has the sunflowers in the middle, two houses facing each other and the larger Sunflowers on the sides.)  I love the Autumn colours!!!

I have so many woolworms that I made this little runner for on old chest from leftovers from other projects!  So simple!  (edge unfinished)

I am also working on a realistic portrait of my father as a young man (probably in his late teens or early 20’s) 

 I was not born until my father was 29…so did not know him as a young man.    This is done in #3, #4, #5, and #6 cuts and is different from most of my hooking work which tends to be whimsical and folk-art or primitive style.  : )

Just some of what i’ve been doing…so you see, I haven’t been idle!!!!!  : )

Happy Thursday…hope you are all well and having fun!!  Sunnie   😉

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “Welcome Autumn in Vermont!!! Sunnie-hooked rugs, Halloween fun, etc.”

  1. Absolutely wonderful witches!! I am so happy to see your post Sunnie! Did you get any damage from the recent flooding there?
    Your rugs are a delight and I just smile looking at the witches!!! Their personalities shine through!!!
    Cathy G

  2. Thanks, Cathy! I can’t help but laugh at the witch expressions!!! LOL We live in the Northeast Kingdom of Vermont, right up by the Canadian Border so we were very fortunate to have no damage at all from the storm and flooding.
    I have worked on many other chairpads and rugs during this spring and summer but it just seemed like we had so many family or other commitments too that I was running here and there and hooking like crazy and sleeping some of the time!!! LOL
    Happy Hooking! Sunnie 😉

  3. Sunnie – I haven’t haunted the blogs in a long time, and yours was the first I decided to visit today – what a treat! Your witches are delightfully creepy. I also would share with you that I have had a good response to offering my patterns on red dot tracing fabric instead of paper. Sometimes it is hard to get the larger patterns on paper at actual size. My solution was to offer them at the same price but on red dot. My customers can take the red dot straight to their backing of choice! It has worked out very well. Email me if you need more info! Thanks for starting my morning with some fun!
    Sally, Folk ‘n’ Fiber
    http://www.folkandfiber.com

Leave a Reply

