ATHA Rug Hooking Biennial was just Wonderful! Sunnie-Old Crow Farm

Dear Friends…if you ever have a chance to attend one of the ATHA biennial meeetings, please do so!  It was a terrific experience and I got to meet some of my internet  friends in person!  ; )  This one was in Lancaster, PA. and the Eden Resort was great!

I took a class from Carrie Martin (visit her at www.onerugtworug.com) on adding penny rug tongues to a hooked piece.  Also we could choose a kit to make an “under rug” mat.   Carrie is a talented person with a love for fiber art and an easy, fun style of teaching.  If you get a chance to take one of her classes, you’ll enjoy yourself! (and learn a lot too!)  : )

My second class was with Laura Pierce doing miniature portraits.  Way out of my “comfort zone” as you know I usually work with #5, #6 and #8 cuts.  This was #3 (tiny) and a little face to work on!!!!!  Whew!!!  Laura’s work is beautiful (visit her at www.flyingdoghookery.com) and she has really mastered portraits.  I learned a lot and will try my hand again after my busy November show season is over!  If you want to do a portrait of Grandma or your little boy, Timmy (!!) please contact Laura and see where she will be teaching.  You’ll really enjoy her class!  : )

The rugs in the rug show at the Eden Resort were all wonderful and the vendors had all the wool you could want.  Also, accessories, books, patterns, hooks…everything!!!  I put in a small piece ( see below) so it would be easy to carry home!!!  LOL

(c) sunnieandress 2011 – good dog dan rug

My rug is called “Good Dog, Dan” and was inspired by an antique rug  from the 1800’s that I saw years ago.  That one was done in squares with the center square a dog with a stick in his teeth, quilt blocks on either side of him and flower vases on the outside.  I thought it was so funny and whimsical…just seems a strange combination of motifs!  The antique rug was in black, white and tan.  I love strange and whimsical (why are you not surprised!!!)lol…so I did my thing with doggie, flowers and quilt motifs!

I’ll be posting more after my show in November (after Thanksgiving).  Then, another Mystery Rug” might be here on the Blog.

Hope you are all doing well and having a Happy Autumn!  Sunnie  ; )

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

3 thoughts on “ATHA Rug Hooking Biennial was just Wonderful! Sunnie-Old Crow Farm”

  1. Hi Sunnie, I don’t think a choice of strange and whimsical is bad, it’s just… Let’s say it’s different. But like the way you think. Also like the strange and whimsical rug ‘Good Dog, Dan’ of yours. Cheers … 

  2. Hi Sunnie, I don’t think a choice of strange and whimsical is bad, it’s just… Let’s say it’s different. But like the way you think. Also like the strange and whimsical rug ‘Good Dog, Dan’ of yours. Cheers … 🙂

    1. Thanks a bunch! Nope…”strange and whimsical” is not bad…just great fun!!!!!..!! LOL I’m drawn to the quirky, fun, silly, strange, whimsical and just plain goofy things…and they bring me a lot of joy and delight. (I can be serious sometimes (!!!) but not many times!!) LOL
      Happy Hooking to you! Sunnie : )

Leave a Reply

