Snowing Today in Vermont’s Northeast Kingdom! – Rug Hooking today!

I love these snowy days with time to hook by the woodstove and organize my studio for the New Year!  🙂

I thought you might enjoy seeing the simple project I am working on for the closet wall in my new “Mud Room”!!!!  LOL  (Hey, a mud room is essential for a farmhouse…and we just converted an unused back porch to an actual room!  It gives us more storage for things like vacuums, cleaning supplies, the cat’s food, etc.)

Here’s the closet wall…:)

Now, isn’t that thrilling!!!! Have you ever seen a nicer looking wall????    LOL   It may not look like much to you…but “Hooray”, a place to put a hooked piece! 

 I wanted something simple so I went back to the notebooks where I keep my little drawings and sketches for rug/chairpad ideas and adapted 4  of my simple chairpad drawings from my early days of hooking (2005-2006).  We all seem to have snowmen, pumpkin, santa, house, bird, etc. drawings and I see so many similar to mine through the years.  But I enjoy seeing all of them…and doing my versions!!  🙂

 This is my “Sunnie’s Seasons Banner“…starting with Winter, then Autumn, then Summer and finally, Spring.  I thought a touch of colour and fun would be good for this room…and an easy and enjoyable project for me before starting a more elaborate rug.  Here is the picture of my progress so far…

The banner is 13 inches wide by 52 inches long for the center sections.  I added just a small, simple border that will be a colour to compliment the centers!  I may offer this as a pattern on red dot or as a paper pattern…the center sections…so that people could add their own border size on their own choice of backing!  I think this would be a fun project for a child’s room too (and the child could help hook!!!)  🙂

sunnie seasons banner (c) sunnie andress , 2011

I am using wools from my stash…and using woolworm leftovers too. ( this is a good project for leftovers!!)  I chose 4 different blues for backgrounds…a coooold blue for the Winter block, where the snowman is ready to toss his snowball at someone!!!…(lol)… a warmer blue for the Autumn that would show off the oranges and yellows of the pumpkin and flower.  I will use another blue for the Summer block bg and a pale blue for the Spring  bg when the robins come to Old Crow Farm.

These simple projects go fast and are great for beginners as the motifs are not difficult.  I’m having fun and will have a nice decoration for my blank wall…and I’ll smile as the Seasons change here in Vermont.

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Snowing Today in Vermont’s Northeast Kingdom! – Rug Hooking today!”

  1. Hello!!! Nice to hear from you ~ this is a very cute rug in the making!! And I love your closet wall ~ never saw one more beautiful!!! How’s that?! Enjoy your new mudroom ~ I know you will!

Leave a Reply

