Sunnie’s Seasons Banner, More Progress – Rug Hooking!

Had some evening time yesterday to sit quietly and hook…so I have finished Winter and done quite a lot on Autumn!!  🙂

As you can see, I have also changed some wool strips and colours, & rounded out the snowman’s snowball …!  It looked a little “square-ish” on the right side!!  I also often grab some woolworms to “hold” a motif until I can choose the right colours.  I took out the “light, sweet” greens on the Autumn pumpkin and flower and replaced them with a little darker and more “primitive” colour.  

 I lucked out with my small leftover wool for the “grass” under the pumpkin…a sploched and mottled green, yellow.  I only needed about 3 strips of another green to fill everything in.  Hooray!!

Sometimes I am asked why I choose a particular wool when doing a rug…”Why did you do That!!!!!?????”  LOL

The winter background wool used two different mottled light blues on white wool.  I could have used a solid or a plaid, but I wanted the snowflakes to blend in with the sky and not stand out too much.  The Autumn background is done with two different wools…one very lightly mottled and one solid.   (Because of Halloween in October, I used some brights along with the primitive oranges in my pumpkin.)

I have chosen a texture for the Summer background but am not sure about it.  I will see after hooking the motifs and then hooking a line of background around them.   So away we go!!!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “Sunnie’s Seasons Banner, More Progress – Rug Hooking!”

  1. Sunnie, Happy Friday the 13th. I hope that you’re not superstitious.

    I love your Season banner. I especially like how you made the background for your snowman. Very effective. You have a great knack to blend your colors. That pumpkin is looking might happy and beautiful.
    I’m looking forward to following your progress.

    My Childhood rug is still rolled up. I haven’t pulled a hoop this winter as I want to finish my King size UFO quilt that I’ve got on the frames for ions. I’m hoping to finish it sometime this winter.

    I’ve made a promise to finish my quilting before I work on my rug, but I’m itching to pull hoops. My spare time is very limited. I quilt on it just before bed time until I get tired and sleepy which doesn’t take long. Hugs. JB

Leave a Reply

