Sunnie’s Seasons Banner – On to Spring! – Rug Hooking

Welcome to signs of Spring!!!!  🙂  Hooray!!  (Well, I do love Winter so I don’t want real Spring to come just yet!!!!) LOL

I have chosen some “sweeter” colours for Spring to start and I will change anything I find not to my liking later on!!  Any of you familiar with my hooking style and methods know that I don’t do much, if any, colour planning when starting a rug.  I choose a colour or two and just jump in!!!  LOL  I like to be surprised at the direction my hooking takes me.  🙂

I think I will change the bill of the bird to a yellow…the bird is like a Robin (God makes the Robin prettier than mine!!!) so I will hold the bill shape with the brown and find a yellow that will show up against my blue sky.

I sit back and look carefully at my work often to see if the colours are pleasing together or are showing up properly.  Some colours are sweet and some more primitive.  Some are “clean” and some “dirty”…some make us think “antique” and some “clear, modern”, etc.  And, some colours used are purely personal…what we like.   I also take the whole piece and look at it too…not just the part I am working on.  I want the blocks in this piece to be different to give my interpretation of the Seasons…but I don’t want one block to dominate all the others!!!!  I started with Winter and went “backwards” to Spring.  I could have chosen to start with my favourite season “Autumn” (beautiful here in Vermont) and gone to Summer…whatever I wanted.  

I’ll post my changes here in a little while to see if my bird looks better!!!  🙂

Addition…Here are my changes…I like the bird better but I might have to outline the beak!!!! 

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  🙂

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “Sunnie’s Seasons Banner – On to Spring! – Rug Hooking”

  1. I wondered about it too, Nan…but checked the Bird book and Robins have a light yellow beak!!!! I needed a darker yellow to stand out on my blue…but might have to outline the beak to make it stand out even more! I’ll see how it looks later!!!
    Hugs, Sunnie 😉

Leave a Reply

