Sunnie’s Seasons Banner – Almost finished! – Rug Hooking

Well, I spent about 7 hours on this banner yesterday!!!    🙂

Finished the hooking, hand-sewed the wool for the binding all around the piece, and whipped the edge!!  Whew!!!  LOL  Thankfully, we are Masterpiece Theatre followers so had two hours to continue to whip while watching Downton Abbey!!  😉

This picture is taken before the piece is steamed so it is not perfectly flat against the wall…but wanted to post it today!  I will steam the piece later today and sew the loose end of the binding down  on the back tomorrow.  Also, I’ll sew my label on the back.

Here we go…almost done…

You might just shake your heads (or bang it against the wall..!!!)  but my choice for the border of this piece was a plum plaid.  This wool is nowhere in the banner except for a tiny leftover piece in the bird’s tail.  I chose the plum because it “reads” as a dark, a brown-ish, etc. and it has a glow that black does not have.  It also has tiny bits of colour in it from the plaid lines. 

 I chose to whip the piece with charcoal gray wool yarn to bring a different touch of darkness to the edge.  I am hoping that the edge just surrounds the piece and sets it off.  I don’t want it “noticed”..!!!  🙂   (From an observer…”Isn’t that a lovely edge on that piece, whatever it is!!”) LOL

For the binding, I used a loosely woven wool…I learned the hard way to not use a tightly woven wool to try to whip over!!!  I did have to switch to a pointed end, not  my usual blunt end whipping needle when I used the tight wool…I learned my lesson!!!!    I’ll check the piece after steaming and see what I need to fix or tidy up or????  Then, I’ll sew a hanging sleeve on the back and hang the banner on my Mud Room wall!!!!  😉

I’ll be getting ready to do a Mystery Rug soon…and will be doing some finishing up on some other rugs that I will post!   We’ll have fun!!!

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

6 thoughts on “Sunnie’s Seasons Banner – Almost finished! – Rug Hooking”

  1. Sunnie, girl ~ it’s a beauty! Can’t wait to see it on the cabinet ~ you were very fast with this piece ~ a woman on a mission! Mission accomplished!!

  2. Sunnie, you must have worn that hook with so much hooking in such a short time. Well, 7 hours is a long time to work on a rug in one day. You are lucky your wool didn’t catch fire. ha ha ha. My, you’re a fast hooker. I love your seasons rug. So Cheery. Hugs. JB

  3. Thank you, Julia!!! I had only a little hooking to finish…but I find that it takes a Lot of time to do the sewing on of the binding and the whipping of the edge!!!!
    I can’t believe how much time it takes. So I spent a few hours in the morning, a few in the afternoon and finished it up with Masterpiece Theatre!!!!! 😉
    Hugs to you, Sunnie 😉

    1. Isn’t rug hooking fun, JoEllen!!! 🙂 I love it…both the serious stuff and the goofy!!! 😉
      Yes, I sew a rectangle of muslin on the back of my rugs with the name of the piece, designed and hooked by, the (c) information, a little information about the piece and the “spot-clean” message. I sew it around the edges and then sew the whole rectangle down as though I am “quilting or basting” so there isn’t any puffiness in the label. After writing the information on the muslin, I iron it with a hot iron and spray starch on the back of the label.
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 😉

Leave a Reply

