Sunnie’s Hooked Rug Valentine – Rug Hooking!

I’m sewing away on my Seasons Banner binding on the back of the piece… and have decided how I want to hang it.  I’m using a dowel that I will paint dark and attach simple decorative wood ends to the dowel.  I am sewing a hanging sleeve on the back and I think we have some old fashioned nails to put into the wall to set the dowel on.  If not, I will try to get some wrought iron hooks to hold the piece.

I thought you might enjoy seeing a rug that I designed and started some years ago…called, “Be My Love, A Fraktur Valentine”.  I think it was in 2008 when I started this although it might have been earlier.  I find a lot of inspiration from old frakturs and samplers, and there are many examples of couples in these designs.  I designed my own and, of course, added a little humor in the process.  The diamond ring the ardent young man is offering his excited “bride-to-be” is large enough to go around her neck!  As you know, it helps to enlarge something to call attention to it!!!!  🙂

I also thought that, although the young man is dressed very nicely, he is wearing what looks like rain boots or garden boots!  Perhaps he is a wealthy farmer?

I used some leftover woolworms in the rug and was experimenting with plaids.  (A Lot of plaids in the background!!!!!…and in the border!!!!)  LOL

I  have finished the hooking and am in the process of steaming this one and getting it ready to add the binding and do the whipping!  Maybe next Sunday when we continue with “Downton Abbey”!  🙂

I have several other rugs planned that use antique motifs from frakturs and samplers…I love doing them so I have a lot to look forward to.

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉 

 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

Leave a Reply

