Sunnie’s Dark Bouquet Hooked Rug “Do-Over”! – Rug Hooking

Maybe some of you have had this same problem!!! 

In 2005,  I was new to rug hooking and was collecting wool and trying out backings to see what I liked best.  I bought backings on the recommendations of long time rug hookers…and tried them, accepted some and thought about others  “Hmmm…not for me!!!!”  🙂

This backing I am working on now is a light linen that has what I call a “silky feel” to it.  In 2005, after learning rug hooking on burlap, I thought this linen felt “slimy” and didn’t like it.  I drew a pattern on it (nothing particularly interesting!!  LOL) and then every time I picked it up, I put it away again. 

However, now as I am sorting and organizing my studio and trying to use up or re-purpose things and I didn’t want to waste this backing.  So I just thought I would draw something on it and just go for it..!!!  LOL  I love the plum plaid backing I am using …(NOTE – My mind must be addled with wool dust!!!!  I am NOT using the plum plaid on this rug background.  It is a brown plaid with a little red in it..!!!  )

so just decided to do a “Dark Bouquet” that is easy, primitive and chunky (!!!).  It was best to just draw it on the backing…so that’s what I did.  I have been working on it off and on for a few days and find that I really like the backing much more than I did 7 years ago!!!!!  It actually is quite nice!  🙂

So here is the “Dark Bouquet” I am working on…and I am also gathering wools and patterns for the “24′ challenge on RHDaily and my Mystery Rug here on the Blog.  I’ll start posting those when I get started.  😉

I’m having fun…as always…and I hope you are too!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

5 thoughts on “Sunnie’s Dark Bouquet Hooked Rug “Do-Over”! – Rug Hooking”

  1. Sunnie, you have a lot done on your new rug for just a few days. Wide cut sure hooks faster than the narrow cuts I’m used to. Your rug looks nice so far and I’m looking forward to it being finished.
    I’ve bought some linen backing from The Cushing Company in Maine when I ordered a bolt of wool but I haven’t tried it yet. I’m wondering how I will like hooking with it. I plan on using the rest of my burlap first. Hook on sister. JB

  2. Yes, Nan…the backing is a cream linen with a silky feel to it. It still is not my favourite but I don’t say “Ickkkk” (LOL) when I touch it!!!! ; ) Can’t remember where I got it…maybe on Ebay from one of the hooking vendors there.

    Julia…I use what is called “Linen burlap”. It has a burlap feel to it but not the burlap scent or the roughness…and it will take either fine cut or wide cut. Some don’t like it at all…and some, like me, love to use it. I’m glad we have so many great backings to choose from.

    Happy Hooking to you…Sunnie 😉

  3. Love the shading on the mug/vase. I have some white linen that is very silky feeling and it is ‘hairless’ linen. It has no body whatsoever but some people like to hook into it!

Leave a Reply

