Sunnie’s Dark Bouquet Rug and Granny’s Blue Vase Rug – Rug Hooking

Well, here we are on a snowy Tuesday in Vermont..!!  🙂

I thought some of you might have done rugs like my Granny’s Blue Vase rug that I designed and hooked 7 years ago.  When I was first drawing simple, more primitive designs I was thinking about my family and motifs that reminded me of them. 

Back in 2005, I posted this “Granny’s” rug online and told the story behind it which was simply that many of the women in my family seemed to have an “old blue vase” that they used often for flowers. because the vases were just the right size!!!   Many of these vases weren’t very attractive (!!!) and I suspect some of them were made by children doing “clay stuff” in school!!  (Remember the “pressing hands in clay” for a dish for Mother?)  LOL   But the Mom’s, Aunties and Grandmas loved them and used them which delighted the children!

I had planned a plain border…just one colour all around …when another thought popped into my head.  I don’t know about you, but I grew up in the 1940’s and 1950’s – graduating from High School in 1959 – and all my female relatives seemed to be crocheting or knitting afghans…especially the “ripple” type where you use up a lot of different colours (think of woolworms!!!) of yarn left over from other projects. 

 I remember seeing these afghans over the backs of rocking chairs, sofas, and at the foot (foots, feet?)  LOL… of many beds!  So I thought it would be fun to give my Granny’s Blue Vase rug an afghan border!!!  I’ve had this by my bed for 7 years and it was, I suspect, the remembrance of this rather chunky vase that inspired the quick sketch for my Dark Bouquet rug!  🙂

 

I have done a little more on my Dark Bouquet…yesterday was so busy…but the background is easy to do and can be done while watching the news!!!   (Or while ignoring the news!!!!!!!)  LOL   Here we go…

I hope your rug hooking projects are going well and you are looking forward to a very pleasant day!  (And I hope those of you who have been sick with that stomach flu (or “Tummy bug”!) will feel better real soon!!!!!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   😉  

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

4 thoughts on “Sunnie’s Dark Bouquet Rug and Granny’s Blue Vase Rug – Rug Hooking”

  1. Sunnie, your rug is coming along very nicely. That other rug looks like two rugs, one on top of another. It’s amazing the inspiration that hookers get from older rugs. I hope that your day is filled with pure joy. JB

  2. A joyful day for you too, Julia! Are the animals coming along OK?
    Yes, I also think the Granny’s vase rug looks like 2 rugs…it struck me like that after I had hooked it..!!! 😉
    Hugs, Sunnie 😉

  3. Granny’s blue vase looks great with new afghan border..use of many colors rather than a single color border has made it more attractive. Can’t wait to see the dark bouquet completed..Happy Hooking to you too.. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Georgianne! The Granny’s memory piece was fun to do and to think of my family and the crafts they enjoyed doing! 🙂
      I’m having a great time reclaiming the backing for the Dark bouquet rug too…didn’t want to throw away a perfectly good piece of linen!!!
      Happy Hooking! Sunnie 😉

Leave a Reply

