Mystery Rug 24 Progress-Day 5/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

This is really getting fun!!!!  I’m having a great time hunting out leftover wool pieces and seeing how they fit into this rug!  Sometimes, the colours surprise me as I try to fit them together!!!  🙂

I hope you will join in a challenge sometime, whether in Rug Hooking Daily, just a challenge for yourself  or in your own hooking group!!!  It can really stretch your mind, especially if it is way out of your comfort zone!!!  LOL   

I know I have done rugs and mats in a challenge that I would never have done if not “forced” to bring something new into my mind.  With the “Smile” challenge on RHD, I worked with narrow strips and a pale group of colours that I don’t normally use.  In the “Forest Secrets” challenge (RHD), I worked with many greens and created “The Watcher”…a variation of the Green Man or  Forest Spirit.  The “Treasures from Grandmother’s Trunk” challenge (RHD) had me searching out old advertising  from the 1920’s and 1930’s featuring women…and hooking a rug in a flat, comic book style.  A “Mixed Media” challenge gave me some experience in working with materials other than wool and adding wooden beads to a rather quiet, simple design of cattails!  And a “Portraits” challenge  (RHD) gave me the courage to try a portrait of my father…and I enjoyed doing it and learning so much!

Even my Blog rugs are a “Challenge” in a way…sometimes I am doing a commercial design that is quite different from my usual work and sometimes I am doing a rug to learn a technique  (like learning some “mock shading” on my “Can You Believe…”silly “dentures” rug!!!!)  LOL

Here is the progress on Day 5…

I hope you have a great day today…and enjoy every minute!!  Happy Hooking!   Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “Mystery Rug 24 Progress-Day 5/Sunnie – Rug Hooking”

Leave a Reply

