Mystery 24 Rug Progress-Day12/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

Well, I hope you will enjoy today’s post a bit more than yesterday’s post…!!!  LOL  🙂

I am making good progress and I think I will be finished earlier than I thought!  Yayyy!  I do work on the section of the rug that can’t be shown as well as the pictures I am giving you…so that I don’t leave that part until the end.

Let me give you some information about this design and what inspired me to take a portion of a permission-free Dover picture to use as this piece.

First, let me say that I really love the Dover books because when an idea pops into my mind, I can look through my own collection of books here and often find a picture that presents even more ideas!    I look through my own sketches and my collection of art, rug and needlework books to fill my head with colours and patterns…then decide upon the final design.  I don’t have to worry about copyright infringement as permission is already given for artists and craftspeople to use the designs…and so I can adjust and adapt them to my heart’s content…!  🙂

This rug is my own adaptation of  a portion of the picture I saw…and I have changed the design a bit to suit myself.  The colours of the original picture were soft, grayed and lighter in mood although I thought the subject presented great power!   The title just popped into my head because of the subject matter… and the jewel tones in the piece were inspired by an old movie!!!!  (Now ,you already knew that I was a little strange, so you shouldn’t be surprised at the things that inspire me!!!!!)  LOL  

 Now, I don’t think that generally, the first word that comes to  anyone’s mind when describing my work is “powerful”!!!     😉      So,  I was drawn immediately to this design as something different …and I wanted to make the 24 challenge a real “challenge” for me!   My work is often light, fun and whimsical with some serious and pleasant designs thrown in the mix.  I wanted to step out of that a little and use the design and the colours I have chosen to celebrate this particular power.   We will see if I have succeeded in that goal! 

Here is Day 12…

May you all have a very pleasant day today, with time to do what brings you joy!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

