New Mystery Rug TYF-Day 3/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

I did have some time yesterday to go through the woolworm bags and have fun pulling out strips that I thought would work with this design!  Hooray!!!  🙂

I want to say something  again today about letting your imagination run free when you are doing either a challenge or a rug where the interpretation of the design is not set. 

I know that if you are hooking a “Humpty Dumpty”  storybook rug for your child or grandchild, you can’t really make Humpty a golden horse…even if you just found a great gold in your wool stash (!!!)  …LOL   Or if you are hooking a “beige & mixed flower colours ” rug for your living room…hooking all the flowers in pale blue except for one glorious bright red tulip might not work well.    LOL  And, of course, there is the rug you are hooking for someone else and the colours chosen are already set.    It’s wonderful to do those rugs…and we all do them!

However…I hope you will think about using a challenge rug or one of your smaller rugs or mats to hook something that you have thought about or wondered “what if I did this…” or think about using the design to try a new technique or palette of colours.  🙂  Is it always important to do a rug in the way it has always been done before?  Or to do it in a “safe” way?  Or to be sure that it pleases everyone?

I have said before that some of the rugs that I have enjoyed  hooking the most are ones where I was stretching my imagination, using colours that were unusual for me, using a different strip size than my “normal” and taking off in a different direction than I first thought when hooking my design.  I have been reminded of this daily as I start this new project – TYF.

I am having a great time working on this rug…although it is so far from the presentation I thought I’d do!!!  LOL  When I first thought of this design, before even finalizing it…I had thought of a light background and had one or two colours in mind to start with.   But in opening one of my “dark wools” boxes, I found this beautiful dark  wool (the very dark blue-green that also reads as “black”) and changed my mind for the background.  The design wasn’t even all set yet..!!!    That started a whole new train of thought and so…I’m off on another adventure!!!  😉    What fun!!!

Here is TYF – Day 3

We’re set for a snowstorm here in the Kingdom today and tomorrow…so I hope I get more hooking in!!!!   Enjoy today!!!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

2 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug TYF-Day 3/Sunnie – Rug Hooking”

Leave a Reply

