New Mystery Rug TYF-“The Young Farmers”-Day 13 – finished

Well…here we are at the finish line!!!!  This one was really fun to do!!!  🙂

A little background on this 24 x 24 inch piece…”The Young Farmers”  (or Two Young Farmers!)  🙂

I had a rough sketch of two young brothers , one standing and one kneeling wearing overalls and plaid shirts in a farm/garden/orchard setting.  The older was telling the younger about a row of plants, telling him how to weed them or some other bit of information. 

 The younger brother was looking off in another direction, looking at the girl on the farm next door, daydreaming, or ignoring his brother as younger brothers sometimes do!!!!  LOL    ( I come from a family where many of my grandparents, aunts and uncles and cousins too had farms, orchards and ranches.  I just thought this would be a fun rug…and was remembering my family.)

However…with the 24 challenge where I hooked the hawk, “Majesty”, I decided to hook more of the 24 x 24 rugs because that format seemed to focus me on the most important part of the design.  So I took only the top portion of my sketch because I thought the legs and feet and more plants didn’t really add much to my main motifs…and I didn’t really need two or more trees!  

 What do you think?  If you visualize the  boys’ legs and feet, two more trees and a longer row of taller plants, do you think that would add to the focus on the communication between the boys?

As I started the design transfer to backing, I was still organizing my wool and came across some wool I thought would be fun to use.  I was looking through some of my design books and picked up one on Medieval costume.   So you know what happened…instead of the overalls and plaid shirts (and baseball caps!!!), I made the costumes  “somewhat”medieval so I could use the colours of wool I had come across in my stash. …!!!  I used a lot of leftover woolworms too…in the leaves and in the costumes!

The faces and hands are hooked in a flat style without shading…not realistic…and the rug is done in #3, #4, #5, and #6 cuts.  I exaggerated the eyes because that is the funny whimsical part of this design.  You can imagine the younger brother saying to himself  “There he goes AGAIN!!!  I know all this stuff!!!!”  LOL

So here is The Young Farmers…finished

I hope you have enjoyed seeing the boys come to life!  I really enjoyed hooking the kneeling boy’s arm in front as I tried several directions in hooking it to make it seem more “rounded”.   🙂  By the way, since I do mostly rough sketches, I often look at my Dover books or paintings and sculpture to help me refine my drawing.  I didn’t like my kneeling boy’s arm and it was to be right out in front.  So I borrowed an arm from my Dover book!!!!  If you only draw rough sketches like I do, you might find that getting an arm or hand, etc.   from a design book might help.  It sure helps me!!!!  LOL 

Happy Hooking…and thank you for visiting and coming along with me on this adventure!!!  I’ll be doing more Blog rugs and will start another in a few days.  I love the 24 x 24 format…and it is teaching me a lot..!!!

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist living and working in the beautiful Northeast Kingdom of Vermont. I specialize in original Santas, witches and other folk characters and original hand-hooked wool rugs. We live a peaceful life here at Old Crow Farm and enjoy our retirement!

6 thoughts on “New Mystery Rug TYF-“The Young Farmers”-Day 13 – finished”

  1. Wow Sunnie, you sure did a great job keeping your rug a mystery to the end. It’s beautiful a rug and I love the rich colors. Congratulations on finishing it so fast.

    I always say that a picture is worth a thousand word. I’m not great at visualizing unfortunately. Hugs, JB

  2. Thank you, Alice and Julia!!! 🙂 I really had fun with this and learned a lot along the way! If you try this 24 x 24 size yourself, I’ll be excited to see it…!!!
    Hugs to you, Sunnie 😉

Leave a Reply

