Sunflower Singin’ the Blues-Day 2-Colour/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

Wow…this is harder than I thought!!!    🙂      It sure is an exercise in colour!!!  LOL

Do you who have tried this exercise (doing a rug/mat with only one or two colours) have any suggestions for me?   🙂   I am realizing how much I rely on being able to change colours or add just a touch of another colour to my piece!!  I can add another blue or gray (!!) but don’t have my usual changes of colour to add interest..!!!  I have to rely on values instead!!   I’m enjoying this confining colour as well as the confining square format…but it is a challenge!!!  I am using my blue  and gray leftover worms for the most part …so that is a bit confining too.

Here is Day 2 of Sunflower Singin’ the Blues…

I want the Sunflower petals look like they are on top of the leaves…and not just blend into the leaves!!!!   I love the blues though…what a fun experiment..!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

Leave a Reply

