Sunflower Singin’ the Blues-Day 3/Colour/Sunnie – Rug Hookiing

You know…I’m finding this exercise fun even though it is not easy (!!)…at least for me!  🙂

I am certainly finding blues I didn’t even know I had…LOL…digging through the Blues wormbag and finding some others at the bottom of my wool boxes.   I have decided to go with a light gray background, a gray that has darker flecks in it for more background “motion”.  I don’t know if you can see that in the photo…but it is more pleasiing to me than just a flat wool.  I found a gray and tan plaid in my stash and took only the gray stripe out of it to use!!  It is a little darker gray so I put that in the lower right corner for “shade”!!!!!  🙂

Yesterday, I thought of a fun “twist” for this piece and that is making me smile as I work!!!!  For the “blue and gray” challenge in the Talking Colour” Group on RHDaily, I don’t have to use Only blue and gray…but it is a challenge for myself to try to do it.

Here is Day 3 progress…

You can see that even the gray background has a “blue” cast in the photo. 

As you know, I don’t like to leave the background for last…so I try to work on it as I go along.  I also decided to do the background in curves as it adds a bit more “motion” again to a rather plain wool..!!!!   I now have to think of motion, texture and how I use the different blues to add interest as I don’t have the option of adding greens and browns and yellows and reds and purples and….you get the idea!!!!!    Yeeeeks…I need different colours!!!!  LOL  I know I will appreciate All my wool colours even more after doing this exercise!!!!!!!

Snowing here in the Kingdom today…after about 50+ degrees yesterday and rain!!!  Hope it is pleasant where you are…Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

3 thoughts on “Sunflower Singin’ the Blues-Day 3/Colour/Sunnie – Rug Hookiing”

  1. Thank you, Julia and Alice! I am sure learning about values of colour…and the limitations of using one or two colours!!!!! LOL (I kinda feel “deprived” at not being able to use All the colours!!!) LOL 🙂

Leave a Reply

