Sunflower Singin’ the Blues-Day 8/Colour/Sunnie – Rug Hooking

I have turned the corner (!!) and am going over the top !!!!  (No, this is not a commentary on my personal life!!! – LOL) 🙂

Of course, many of my hooked rugs and mats Have been “over the top”  (LOL)…but I like to think they sometimes help others decide to try something new or different in their own rug hooking! 

The experimentation is great…and can bring a lot of satisfaction.  Of course, it may be a “Hooray” or a “Blah”…but we learn in any case.  You don’t need to put your mistakes out for the world to see (the way I do here!!!!) but don’t be afraid to try something you want to do…even if it is goofy or not what everyone else is doing.  Learn from everyone and then follow your own path.

I always smile when I remember one of my daughters speaking about my work to someone who commented on my library of Art, Quilt, Craft and Rug hooking books.  The comment was…”Your mother must enjoy making many of the patterns she has in all the books in her library.”  My daughter said…”Oh no, Mother never MAKES anything from patterns in those books!  She just absorbs them and does her own thing!!”  🙂   I also love this quote from Albert Einstein…”The secret of creativity is knowing how to hide your sources.”  (!!)   LOL

 I get my inspiration from so many sources …some I hide and others, I tell you about. 😉    There is really no need to “copy” others.  Either purchase a pattern you love from one of our great designers, adapt permission-free motifs, be inspired by art, craft and decorative items from past centuries or just hook what flows from your own head…!!!

Here is my progress on Day 8… (glad I don’t leave all the background until last..!!!)  😉

I am going to wait a bit before continuing with the center…until I get more petals and leaves finished .  I am still unsure of my center and I think I will be able to judge what I want to do better when the flower is more complete!!!

Rather gray in the Kingdom today…fits right in with my Sunflower!!!!!  Happy Hooking!  Sunnie   😉

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “Sunflower Singin’ the Blues-Day 8/Colour/Sunnie – Rug Hooking”

Leave a Reply

