March Mystery Rug AGA-Day 5/Sunnie/Rug Hooking

Zipping right along on this rug and enjoying lots of colour once again!!!  LOL  🙂

As you can see now, this is an entirely different design than the last 2 mystery 24 x 24 rugs and from the Blue Sunflower!   Sometimes you can tell who hooked a particular piece by the subject matter…such as someone creating mostly abstracts, geometrics or florals.  However, I find that jumping off my path from time to time is a lot more fun than staying with my “usual” work!!!  🙂  LOL  (I seem to simply hook what pops into my mind and what gives me a lot of enjoyment…whatever the theme may be!!!)  🙂

Here we are on Day 5:

If you love old frakturs and antique embroidered samplers as I do, you will appreciate the whimsical and often funny motifs in these designs.  If you are looking for inspiration (and you enjoy whimsy!) looking through books or on the net for pictures of these designs can give you lots of ideas.  

Now, I have done rugs adapted from or inspired by old frakturs and samplers before, but I always try to make them my own and not copy them exactly.  (I only use permission-free  motifs or designs from the 1800’s and earlier that are out of copyright..!!  That’s important..!!)  You will see many of us using the sources…sometimes the very same sources…but the results are very different.  That’s what makes the whole creative process fun for me!!!!

Here are a couple of my rugs/mats  inspired by or adapted from frakturs …from 5-7 years ago:

And this one…a small mat… 

Happy Hooking!  Sunnie  😉 

Author: Sunnie-oldcrowfarm

I am a folk artist now living in Vancouver, Washington. We loved our Vermont "Old Crow Farm" but now I live in a little cottage with a bright yellow front door! I no longer have my business but still love designing and hooking rugs and experimenting with colour...! I do "mystery rugs" on my Blog and that is great fun!

2 thoughts on “March Mystery Rug AGA-Day 5/Sunnie/Rug Hooking”

Leave a Reply

